Press Releases

Secretary of the State Press Release Header


Primary Results to be Audited at Selected Polling Locations

A manual count of ballots from five percent of all polling places using optical scanners will be matched against machine totals to confirm vote integrity

HARTFORD – On Tuesday, Secretary of the State Mark Kohler randomly selected voting precincts to have primary results audited following the August 9 Primary.

Five percent of the polling places that use optical scan machines are subject to the audit, as prescribed by the Connecticut General Statutes 9-320f. The manually counted ballots will be matched against the vote totals from optical scan machines.

“A fair and transparent approach that ensures the accuracy and integrity of the vote is what these post-primary and post-election audits are all about,” Secretary Kohler said. “This office, once again, would like to thank the local election officials who are more than capable of handling this critical process in an open and competent manner.”

There were approximately 732 locations that used optical scan machines on August 9. Secretary Kohler chose 37 primary and 15 alternate locations.

When the municipalities and corresponding districts are identified by a lottery conducted by the Secretary of the State, the offices on the ballot that will be subject to the audit are chosen by the municipal clerk.

The University of Connecticut, the Secretary of the State’s Office, and the State Elections Enforcement Commission (SEEC) will analyze the results of the audit, which will be made available to the public.

Connecticut has one of the strongest audit statutes in the United States and was the first state in New England to require a comprehensive audit of primary results.

List of polling places to be audited:

1. New Haven - Truman School – Gym
2. Darien – Board of Ed Building
3. Norwalk – Tracey Elementary School
4. Colchester – Town Hall
5. Fairfield – Mill Hill School
6. Stamford – Westover School
7. Avon – Thompson Brook
8. Ellington – Ellington High School – Gym
9. Cheshire – District 1 – Cheshire High School
10. Salisbury – Town Hall
11. Roxbury – Roxbury Town Hall
12. Waterbury – St. Francis Xavier
13. Fairfield – Dwight School
14. Killingworth – Killingworth Elementary School
15. Trumbull – Middlebrook School
16. New Haven – Atwater Senior – Community Center
17. Meriden – John Barry School
18. Wallingford – Moses Y Beach School – Gym
19. Branford – Indian Neck School
20. Southington – Thalberg School
21. Seymour – District 1
22. Norwich – Rose City Center
23. Groton - Groton City Municipal Building
24. Plainfield – Town Hall
25. Simsbury – Tootin Hills School
26. South Windsor – PR Smith
27. Fairfield – Fairfield Warde High School
28. Plainville – Wheeler School
29. Morris – Morris Community Hall
30. Windsor – Poquonock School
31. New Haven – Carter High School – Gym
32. Bristol – Mountain View School
33. Hamden – Dunbar Hill School
34. Newington – District 6 – John Wallace Middle School
35. Berlin – Hubbard School
36. Sherman – Sherman Emergency Services Facility
37. Wolcott – Wakelee Elementary School


1. New Canaan – Saxe Middle School
2. Darien – Board of Ed Building
3. Branford – Branford Fire Headquarters
4. Darien – Hindley School
5. East Lyme – East Lyme Community Center
6. Westport – Greens Farms School
7. Southbury – Community Center
8. Fairfield – Mill Hill School
9. East Haven – Hays School
10. Meriden – Israel Putnam School
11. Hartford – YWCA
12. Branford – St. Therese Church Hall
13. Hartford – Samuel V. Arroyo-Pope Park Center
14. Stamford – Stamford High School
15. Southington – Kelley School

Twitter: Secretary of State on Twitter
Facebook: Secretary of State on Facebook