Press Releases

Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz


Lt. Governor Bysiewicz and Veterans Affairs Commissioner Saadi Announce 12 New Inductees into Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame

Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz and state Department of Veterans Affairs Commissioner Thomas J. Saadi today announced the 12 men and women who will be inducted into the Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame Class of 2020.

The Hall of Fame recognizes distinguished veterans who have made significant contributions to their communities after leaving military service.

“Since 2005, the Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame has formally recognized veterans in our state who, after discharging from military service, have distinguished themselves through a life of service at the local, regional and state levels as leaders in veterans organizations, in public service, and as volunteers and community advocates. These men and women have enriched their communities through their selfless commitment and application of their knowledge and talents, to bettering the lives of others. Being able to publicly recognize and honor these fine veterans each year is truly one of the highlights of serving as Commissioner as it is these honorees who embody the true meaning of service to our nation and to our communities,” said Veterans Affairs Commissioner Saadi.

“For more than 15 years, the Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame has recognized our veterans, who sacrificed everything as they served their country and continue to give back to their local communities. While each of these brave men and women come from different backgrounds, they all share the same characteristics – courage, strength, pride and selflessness. Congratulations to this year’s inductees! Thank you to the 2020 class for their bravery and their continued leadership and commitment to bettering our communities and state,” said Lt. Governor Bysiewicz.

Lt. Governor Bysiewicz and Commissioner Saadi will be joined by leaders of the state’s veterans’ community at the induction ceremony which has not yet been scheduled due to COVID-19 restrictions, however, will be scheduled for a date in early/mid-summer 2021. Each inductee will receive a commemorative medallion and certificate recognizing their induction.

The 2020 Connecticut Veterans Hall of Fame inductees are:

1. Harvey Curtiss Barnum, Jr., U.S. Marine Corps, Cheshire 

2. Severio “Bob” Fodero, U.S. Army, posthumously, New Haven, Orange 

3. Theodore Graziani, U.S. Army, Ellington 

4. Edward Robert Karazin, Jr., U.S. Army, Westport 

5. Kristaps Juris Keggi, U.S. Army Reserve, Middlebury 

6. Michael Kellett, U.S. Navy, Shelton 

7. Kenneth “K. Robert” Lewis, U.S. Air Force, New London 

8. Stewart Brett McKinney, U.S. Air Force, posthumously, Fairfield 

9. Mirca Reyes, U.S. Navy, Groton 

10. Manuel Rodrigues, U.S. Marine Corps, Coventry 

11. Heather Sandler, U.S. Navy, Glastonbury 

12. Thomas Eugene Williamson, U.S. Navy, New London

Twitter: Twitter
Facebook: Facebook

Samantha Norton

Director of Communications