Press Releases

Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz



Connecticut joins over 40 states in national movement to advance women and girls in STEM

(HARTFORD, CT) – Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz has been named the Connecticut Honorary Chair of the Million Women Mentors’ (MWM). Connecticut now joins governors, lieutenant governors, members of congress, and other leaders from over 40 other states in a national movement aimed at advancing girls and women in STEM programs.

“I am honored to serve as the Million Women Mentors’ Honorary chair and to open new doors for girls pursuing careers in STEM in Connecticut and across the country,” Lt. Governor Bysiewicz said. “Time and time again, women and girls have proven that they can succeed in the STEM field when given the necessary resources to excel. The goals of the MWM movement directly coincide with the work being done by the Governor’s Council on Women and Girls’ to advance women, gender equality, and opportunity in our state. Mentorship is an important step to helping women and girls further their STEM careers and I am dedicated to making sure Connecticut will provide it.”

“As we celebrate the 5th year of Million Women Mentors, we are excited to have the leadership of Lt. Governor Bysiewicz join the ranks of other Governors and Lt. Governors who serve in the role to elevate the mission of this movement,” said Sheila Boyington, National MWM States Chair. “Getting more girls to follow this path and supporting women who are in the STEM field is critical to the workforce.”

Million Women Mentors (MWM) is a national movement with the goal of providing one million Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) mentoring relationships to girls and women. The movement helps them to choose, persist and succeed in STEM programs and careers in order to increase the percentage of high school girls, female undergraduate students, and women in the STEM field. MWM is an initiative of STEMconnector in collaboration with over 85 national partners, 60 corporate sponsors, and over 40 state teams. In addition to raising awareness, the MMW movement will build a network of support teams in participating states and an automated, scalable, easy-to-use platform to facilitate the connection.

MWM 2019 Honorary Chairs


  • Iowa - Governor Kim Reynolds (National Honorary Chair)

  • Alabama - Governor Kay Ivey

  • Idaho - Governor Brad Little

  • Oregon - Governor Kate Brown

  • Maine - Governor Janet Mills

  • Rhode Island - Governor Gina Raimondo

Lieutenant Governors

  • Arkansas - Lt. Governor Tim Griffin

  • Connecticut - Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz

  • Delaware - Lt. Governor Bethany Hall-Long

  • Kentucky - Lt. Governor Jenean Hampton

  • Maryland - Lt. Governor Boyd Rutherford

  • Montana - Lt. Governor Mike Cooney

  • Nevada - Lt. Governor Kate Marshall

  • New York - Lt. Governor Kathleen C. Hochul

  • Tennessee - Lt. Governor Randy McNally

  • Utah - Lt. Governor Spencer Cox

Other Leadership

  • Florida - State Senator Lizebeth Benacquisto

  • Hawaii - US Senator Mazie Hirono

  • Illinois - US Senator Tammy Duckworth

  • Indiana - President Ivy Tech Dr. Sue Ellsperman

  • Michigan - US Senator Debbie Stabenow

  • Nevada - US Senator Catherine Cortez

  • North Carolina - State Representative Graig Meyer

  • New Hampshire - US Senator Jeanne Shaheen

  • South Carolina - State Representative Sylleste Davis

  • Tennessee - State Senator Bo Watson

  • Tennessee - Chancellor, Tennessee Board of Regents Dr. Flora Tydings

For more information on the Million Women Mentors movement, visit

For more information on the Governor’s Council on Women and Girls visit


Twitter: Twitter
Facebook: Facebook

Juliemar Ortiz 

Press Secretary

O: 860-524-7346

C: 860.278.6809