Press Releases

Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz


Lt. Gov. Bysiewicz Launches Connecticut Complete Count Committee to Help Prepare for 2020 Census

(HARTFORD, CT) – Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz today announced the launch of the Connecticut Complete Count Committee (CCCC) to inform and help direct the State's efforts in the upcoming 2020 Census.

“Connecticut is launching a major effort in advance of the 2020 Census to ensure that we are the best counted state in the nation,” said Lt. Gov. Bysiewicz. “An accurate census count is critically important to our state as it is the foundation to determine federal funding allocations. The data collected by the 2020 census affects all of us, not just in government, but also private businesses, schools, hospitals, non-profits, and other public and private entities. Currently, Connecticut is ranked first in the nation for paying the most in federal income taxes and we are amongst the lowest in getting federal dollars in return. Therefore, it is extremely important that Connecticut state government take an active role in facilitating counting efforts by establishing the Connecticut Complete Count Committee.”

The Connecticut Complete Count Committee is an advisory panel of community leaders who represent diverse populations from across the state including elected officials, faith leaders, community health centers, chambers of commerce, community activists and heads of housing authorities. The members will work to analyze previous census undercounts and recommend strategies to ensure a full count in Connecticut.

Lt. Governor Bysiewicz, who will chair the committee, has appointed Secretary of the State Denise Merrill, State Representative Christopher Rosario of Bridgeport, and State Representative Pat Wilson Pheanious of Ashford to serve as co-chairs.

“An accurate Census count is critical to ensure that Connecticut receives our share of the federal funds we rely on, and that our tax dollars provided for,” said Secretary Merrill. “Often, the residents for whom support is necessary are the most likely to be undercounted, including young children, people in poverty, immigrants, and people who live in our cities and in our rural towns. I’m committed to making sure that every one of our residents is accurately counted, and fairly represented.”

“As co-chair I am pleased that I will be playing a major role in the census as there is nothing more important than an accurate census count for the equitable distribution of government resources,” Rep. Rosario said. “I take this responsibility with solemn understanding and a commitment to the efficacy of the task ahead.”

“The census is critically important to proper representation of the needs of our communities and state,” said Rep. Wilson Pheanious. “Due to a variety of factors, we have seen undercounting in our more rural areas that have had detrimental effects. I look forward to the working with this diverse group of individuals to properly prepare and look for workable solutions for the 2020 census. I thank Lt. Governor Bysiewicz for appointing me co-chair of this much needed council.”

The state-wide committee will also assist municipal governments with forming Local Complete Count Committees (LCCC) to promote and encourage response to the 2020 Census in their own communities. The LCCC’s are comprised of a broad spectrum of government and community leaders from education, business, healthcare, and other community organizations. These trusted voices develop and implement a 2020 Census awareness campaign based upon their knowledge of the local community to encourage a response.

Members of the Connecticut Complete Count Committee:

  • (Co-chair) Secretary of the State Denise Merrill

  • (Co-chair) State Representative Christopher Rosario

  • (Co-chair) State Representative Patricia Wilson Pheanious

  • Angel Sierra and Julio Mendoza- Spanish American Merchants Association

  • Antionette Spinelli- Town Clerks Association

  • Arvind Shaw- Generations Health Services (Windham)

  • Betsy Gara- Council on Small Towns

  • Betti Kuszaj- Northeastern Chamber of Commerce

  • Bridget Quinn-Carey- Hartford Public Library CEO

  • Chris George- Integrated Refugee & Immigrant Services (New Haven)

  • Colleen Flanagan Johnson- Senior Advisor, Office of Governor Ned Lamont

  • Dita Bhargava- Milan Organization

  • Dr. Elsa Nunez- Eastern Connecticut State University

  • Dr. Karen DuBois Walton- New Haven Housing Authority

  • Dr. Tekisha Everette- Health Equity Solutions

  • Elsa Peterson Obuchowski- League of Women Voters of Connecticut

  • Eugene Market, MPH, CMPE- First Choice Health Centers

  • Gian-Carl Casa- CT Community Nonprofit Alliance

  • Irene Tsikitas- Triangle Community Center (Norwalk)

  • Jay Williams- Hartford Foundation for Public Giving

  • JoAnn M. Ryan- Northwest Chamber of Commerce

  • Jody Barr- AFSCME

  • Joe DeLong- Connecticut Conference of Municipalities

  • Joe McGee- Fairfield County Business Council

  • Julia Wade- Domus Kids (Stamford) and former Chair of Stamford Census Complete Count Committee

  • Julio Conception- MetroAlliance and Hartford Chamber of Commerce

  • Karla Fortunato- Connecticut Council for Philanthropy

  • Kate Byroade- CT Library Association

  • Kica Matos- Center for Community Change (New Haven)

  • Larry McHugh- Middlesex Chamber of Commerce
  • Linda Estabrook, MPH - Hartford Gay and Lesbian Health Collective

  • MD Rahman- Central Connecticut Chamber of Commerce

  • Michael Hyman- Interfaith Council of Southwestern Connecticut

  • Michelle Riordan-Nold- CT Data Collaborative

  • Michelle A. Ross, Esq.- Immigration Attorney

  • Monica Vargas Huertas- National Association of Latino Elected officials

  • Paul Fabula- U.S. Census Bureau

  • Paul Mounds- Chief Operating Officer, Office of Governor Ned Lamont

  • Rick Melita- SEUI 1199

  • Rob Simmons- Stonington First Selectman

  • Robin McHaelen- True Colors (Hartford)

  • Ronald Perry Davis- NAACP, 1st Vice President

  • Surendra Khera, MD- Hartford Community Health Services

  • Suresh Sharma- Milan Organization
  • Tark Aouadi- Council on American Islamic Relations

  • Terri Ann Lowenthal- Census Consultant

  • Tony Sheridan- Eastern Connecticut Chamber of Commerce

  • Victor Lopez- Hispanic Coalition and Waterbury Alderman

  • Will Ginsberg- Greater New Haven Community Foundation


Twitter: Twitter
Facebook: Facebook
Juliemar Ortiz
Press Secretary
Office: 860-524-7346
Cell: 860-278-6809