Upcoming CT DRS webinar: Select to register for the upcoming Withholding Tax Overview Webinar on Wednesday, July 24, 2024, at 10:00 a.m.

Transportation Network Company Fee Information

Who Must Register and File the Transportation Network Company Fee Return
Transportation network companies, as defined below, are required to register with the Department of Revenue Services (DRS) for the transportation network company fee.

Transportation network companies that are required to file the Transportation Network Company Fee Return may register online through myconneCT. Go to myconneCT, under Business Registration, click New Business/Need a CT Registration Number? There is no fee for registering for the transportation network company fee.

Click here to Register Now on myconneCT!

Transportation Network Company Fee
Each transportation network company must pay a fee of thirty cents on each prearranged ride that originates in Connecticut.
Transportation network company means a company, corporation, partnership, trust, association, sole proprietorship or similar organization that operates in Connecticut and uses a digital network to connect transportation network company riders to transportation network company drivers to provide prearranged rides. 
Transportation network company does not include the holder of a certificate of public convenience and necessity to operate a taxicab or the holder of a permit to operate a motor vehicle in livery service.
Prearranged ride means transport by a transportation network company driver of a transportation network company rider, (A) beginning when the driver accepts a request from the rider through a digital network, (B) continuing while the driver transports the rider, and (C) ending when the last rider exits the transportation network company vehicle.
How to File
Form TNC-654, Transportation Network Company Fee Return, must be filed and paid electronically using myconneCT.
When to File
The return is due on or before the last day of the month following each calendar quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the return will be considered timely if filed by the next business day.

Interest and Penalties

In general, interest applies to any portion of the fee not paid on or before the original due date of the return. If you do not pay the fee when due, you will owe interest at the rate of 1% per month or fraction of a month until the fee is paid in full.

Late Payment Penalty

If a fee is due, the penalty for underpayment of the fee is 10% of the fee due or $50, whichever is greater.
Penalty for failure to pay electronically

The following graduated penalty amounts will apply if you fail to remit payments electronically:

  • First offense – 10% penalty on the amount of the required tax payment, but not more than $2,500;
  • Second offense – 10% penalty, but not more than $10,000; and
  • Third and subsequent offenses – 10% penalty.