Public Safety Radio Frequency Coordination

Welcome to the Connecticut State Frequency Coordination Service Page. This service is offered to the Public Safety Community; municipalities, police and fire services within Connecticut. If you have any questions, please call us at (860) 685-8080.

The Division of Statewide Emergency Telecommunications (DSET) provides frequency coordination to the public safety communications community within Connecticut and coordinates frequency spectrum with neighboring states and regional committees. Our mission is to provide the public safety community with reliable, non-interfering radio telecommunications.

DSET maintains an updated FCC radio frequency spectrum database, plans for the best utilization of radio channels and reviews all applications for public safety licensing.

DSET maintains membership on two FCC regional planning committees, Region 8 and Region 19. FCC regional planning committees have developed radio frequency spectrum allocation plans for the 806 MHz band. Region 8 includes the counties of: Fairfield, Litchfield, New Haven, and Middlesex in Connecticut, the southern half of New York and the northern half of New Jersey. Region 19 includes the counties of: Hartford, Tolland, Windham and New London in Connecticut, and the states of Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont, Maine and New Hampshire. This office also maintains membership on the New England 700MHz Regional Planning Committee, which includes the states of Connecticut, New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Vermont. The Region 19 700MHz Public Safety Planning Committee was the third regional planning committee to have an FCC approved plan in the nation. The FCC approved plan enabled the planning committee to begin the distribution of 700 MHz general use frequency spectrum after June 12, 2009. The Region 19 700MHz Committee is the clearing house for the 700MHz state channels utilized in New England.

The Region 19 700 MHz planning committee has a 4.9GHz Plan on file with the FCC. The Plan requires all New England Public Safety Services licensed in the 4.9GHz band (4940MHz – 4990MHz) to abide by the procedures as written in the 4.9GHz Plan. The Plan requires licensed 4.9GHz users to coordinate their activities with the committee to share common resources and eliminate the duplication of facilities.

All interested parties wishing to participate in the planning for the use of 700/800MHz and 4.9GHz public safety spectrum should contact DSET at the email address below.


The following frequency application form is available:  FCC FORM 601

Meeting Notices can be found at