Forest Practices Act Temporary Task Force

The Forest Practices Act Temporary Task Force was convened to make recommendations regarding the adoption of regulations in accordance with Section 23-65j(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes (CGS).

On May 26, 2010, the Forest Practices Advisory Board developed a final list of stakeholder groups.  The Forest Practices Act Temporary Task Force members include the following:   
  1. Municipal wetlands agent from one of 20 towns identified in 23-65k Municipal regulation of forest practices. These towns retain the authority to govern forest practices.
  2. Representative from forest products industry (sawmill).
  3. Private consulting forester who is also a member of the Society of American Foresters (SAF).
  4. Independent timber harvester (logger) who is also a member of the Connecticut Professional Timber Producers (TIMPRO). TIMPRO is a 501 c (6) non-profit trade organization representing the forest products industry in Connecticut.
  5. Private Connecticut forest landowner who is also a member of Eastern Connecticut Forest Landowners Association (ECFLA).
  6. Member of the Connecticut Tree Farm chapter.
  7. Member of Connecticut Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ).
  8. Member of the Board of Directors for the Connecticut Forest and Park Association (CFPA).
  9. Water quality specialist from large land owning Connecticut water utility.
  10. Member of the Forest Practice Advisory Board.
  11. An academic with expertise in Biology/Ecology.
  12. A DEEP Forestry Field Staff.
Meeting Information

Meeting Date
August 12, 2010 (First Meeting) Agenda, Minutes
September 9, 2010 Agenda, Minutes
September 29, 2010 Agenda, Minutes
Related Documents

Content last updated October 2019