State Environmental Conservation Police

Who We Are

The Connecticut Environmental Conservation Police is comprised of Conservation Officers stationed throughout Connecticut. All EnCon Police are certified as police officers by the Connecticut Police Officer Standards and Training Council. Conservation Officers are required to complete the same police academy training as all municipal police officers in Connecticut and maintain this certification through ongoing in-service training. Due to the complexities of the job, Conservation Officers routinely receive specialized training above and beyond that of municipal police officers in areas related to the EnCon Police missions. In addition to their state authority, Conservation Officers are also appointed as special deputy agents for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and the National Marine Fisheries Service so they may enforce federal fisheries and wildlife laws.

The State Environmental Conservation Police are under the command of Colonel Chris Lewis.  There are three districts, East, West and Marine, in addition to the Hartford Headquarters Command Staff. 

The Hartford Headquarters Command Staff is responsible for overall command and administrative functions such as personnel, equipment procurement, purchasing, training, policies and procedures and coordination with other DEEP Divisions and other State and Federal law enforcement agencies.

Law Enforcement Districts

Map of Environmental Conservation Police Districts Andover Ansonia Ashford Avon Barkhamsted Beacon Falls Berlin Bethany Bethel Bethlehem Bloomfield Bolton Bozrah Branford Bridgeport Bridgewater Bristol Brookfield Brooklyn Burlington Canaan Canterbury Canton Chaplin Cheshire Chester Clinton Colchester Colebrook Columbia Cornwall Coventry Cromwell Danbury Darien Deep River Derby Durham Eastford East Granby East Haddam East Hampton East Hartford East Haven East Lyme Easton East Windsor Ellington Enfield Essex Fairfield Farmington Franklin Glastonbury Goshen Granby Greenwich Griswold Groton Guilford Haddam Hamden Hampton Hartford Hartland Harwinton Hebron Kent Killingly Killingworth Lebanon Ledyard Lisbon Litchfield Lyme Madison Manchester Mansfield Marlborough Meriden Middlebury Middlefield Middletown Milford Monroe Montville Morris Naugatuck New Britain New Canaan New Fairfield New Hartford New Haven Newington New London New Milford Newtown Norfolk North Branford North Canaan North Haven North Stonington Norwalk Norwich Old Lyme Old Saybrook Orange Oxford Plainfield Plainville Plymouth Pomfret Portland Preston Prospect Putnam Redding Ridgefield Rocky Hill Roxbury Salem Salisbury Scotland Seymour Sharon Shelton Sherman Simsbury Somers Southbury Southington South Windsor Sprague Stafford Stamford Sterling Stonington Stratford Suffield Thomaston Thompson Tolland Torrington Trumbull Union Vernon Voluntown Wallingford Warren Washington Waterbury Waterford Watertown Westbrook West Hartford West Haven Weston Westport Wethersfield Willington Wilton Winchester Windham Windsor Windsor Locks Wolcott Woodbridge Woodbury Woodstock

Contact Information:

Office Phone Fax
For Emergencies:

24 Hour Emergency Dispatch Center (860) 424-3333

Toll Free Wildlife/Fisheries Violation Hotline (800) 842-4357
For Routine Administrative Questions/Inquiries Only:  

Administrative Headquarters (860) 424-3012 (860) 424-3672

Eastern District Headquarters-                      Captain Vincent Mazzotta

(860) 295-9523 (860) 295-8175

Western District Headquarters-                      Captain David Nemecek (860) 485-0226 (860) 485-1638

Marine District Headquarters-                      Captain Keith Williams (860) 434-9840 (860) 434-3501

Make a Commendation or File a Complaint


Content Last Updated November 2021