Press Releases


Consumer Protection Commissioner Issues Warning About Stores Targeting Minors With Illegal, Unregulated High-THC, Synthetic Cannabis Products

It is illegal to sell cannabis without a license in Connecticut

HARTFORD — The Department of Consumer Protection Commissioner is warning the public that high-THC hemp products and synthetic cannabinoids sold from unlicensed retailers are unregulated and could be harmful if consumed.

“The purpose of a regulated industry is to provide a safe marketplace for adults, 21 and older, who choose to consume cannabis,” said DCP Commissioner Bryan T. Cafferelli. “Products sold by licensed cannabis retailers and hybrid retailers have been tested and are subject to strict regulations related to labeling, packaging, serving size and more. High-THC hemp products are considered cannabis. Products sold illegally at unauthorized retailers are not subject to these regulations designed to protect public health and safety, and are often sold to minors under 21 years old. We are working with law enforcement to protect public health and safety, particularly for young people who may be targeted by these illegal products.

A list of businesses licensed to sell cannabis in Connecticut is available at

Both high-THC hemp products and synthetic cannabinoids may only be sold by licensed cannabis establishments to adults who are 21 years old and older.

It is illegal to sell or offer cannabis, including synthetic cannabinoids, and high-THC hemp products, without a cannabis license issued by the Department of Consumer Protection. It is also illegal to sell or offer cannabis to people under the age of 21.

THC includes Delta-7, Delta-8, Delta-9, Delta-10, THCA and any other variation of tetrahydrocannabinol. A high-THC hemp product is a product that contains more THC than the following examples:

  • For a hemp edible, hemp topical or hemp transdermal patch: 1 mg per serving or 5 mg per container.
  • For a hemp tincture: 1 mg per serving or 25 mg per container. This includes oil intended for ingestion by swallowing, or by dissolving in the mouth, cheek or under the tongue.
  • For a hemp concentrate or extract, including a vape oil, wax or shatter: 25 mg per container.
  • For a manufactured hemp product not described above: 1 mg per serving, 25 mg per container, or 0.3 percent on a dry-weight basis for cannabis flower or cannabis trim.

Synthetic cannabinoids are artificial cannabinoids that are chemically produced and may be dangerous. They are legally defined as "any material, compound, mixture or preparation which contains a substance and acts as a naturally occurring cannabinoid that is produced artificially and not derived from an organic source naturally containing cannabinoids.”

Adults who choose to consume cannabis are reminded to do so responsibly, including storing cannabis products in their original packaging, locked up and out of reach of children and pets. Resources regarding responsible cannabis use, as well as information about addiction and health risks is available at

Cannabis was approved for adult-use in June 2021. Adult-use sales began Jan. 10, 2023 at licensed retailers. For more information about Adult-Use Cannabis, visit

Twitter: DCP on Twitter
Facebook: DCP on Facebook

Media Contact:
Kaitlyn Krasselt
(860) 713-6019 (office)
(860) 377-0246 (cell)