Vaccinations by Pharmacists

Pharmacists who hold a valid pharmacist license in Connecticut and have successfully completed an immunization training program for pharmacists may administer vaccinations to:

  • Patients aged 18 years or older; and,
  • Patients at least 12 years of age and under the age of 18 with either:
    • Consent of such’s patient’s parent, legal guardian or other person have legal custody of such patient; or,
    • Proof that the patient is an emancipated minor.

*Note: The Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness Act (PREP Act) provides immunity to qualified individuals, including pharmacists, authorized to administer COVID-19 and influenza vaccinations. The PREP Act also authorizes pharmacists to order and administer approved COVID-19 and childhood vaccines to children ages 3-18 years through 2024. Once there is no emergency in effect, PREP Act coverage will no longer extend to all routine childhood vaccinations by pharmacists, pharmacy interns, and pharmacy technicians.

Which vaccines can a pharmacist administer?

Licensed pharmacists who have successfully completed an immunization training program for pharmacists may administer any vaccine, approved or authorized by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) that is:

  1. Listed on the National Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Adult Immunization Schedule for a patient who is at least 12 years of age or older with either:
    1. Consent of such patient’s parent, legal guardian or other person that has legal custody of the patient; or, 
    2. Proof that the patient is an emancipated minor;
  2. Not included on the CDC’s Adult Immunization Schedule provided instructions for such vaccine are available on the CDC’s website; or,
  3. Prescribed by a prescribing practitioner for a specific patient via a written or verbal prescription.
What is required for a pharmacist to administer a vaccine?

A pharmacist shall make a reasonable effort to review a patient's vaccination history to prevent any inappropriate use of a requested vaccine. All vaccines shall be administered in accordance with the: 

  • Vaccine manufacturer's package insert or the orders of a prescribing practitioner; and,
  • Regulations developed by the Department for the purpose of administering vaccines.
Can a pharmacist administer epinephrine if they believe a patient is having an anaphylactic reaction?

Yes. A pharmacist who has successfully completed an immunization training program for pharmacists may administer an epinephrine cartridge injector (EpiPen, Auvi-Q, Adrenaclick, etc.) if the pharmacist reasonably believes that the patient is experiencing anaphylaxis. The pharmacist or designee shall call 9-1-1 either before or immediately after such pharmacist administers the epinephrine cartridge injector. 

The pharmacist shall document the date, time and circumstances of the administration of the epinephrine cartridge injector and maintain such documentation for at least three years.

Can a pharmacy technician administer vaccinations?

Yes. A certified pharmacy technician, who holds BOTH an active certification from the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) or equivalent, AND an active registration as a Pharmacy Technician in Connecticut, may administer a vaccine to a patient at the pharmacy if:

  1. The managing pharmacist of such pharmacy is authorized to administer vaccines under this section; and,
  2. The pharmacy technician has:
  • Successfully completed a course of hands-on training, certified by the American Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), concerning the administration of vaccines;
  • Been trained at such pharmacy regarding the process for administering vaccines to patients at such pharmacy;
  • Successfully completes at least one hour of annual continuing education concerning immunization;
  • Been evaluated by the managing pharmacist of such pharmacy; and,
  • Administers such vaccine at the direction of the pharmacist on duty at such pharmacy.
Can the pharmacy have an increased pharmacist-to-technician ratio when vaccines are administered?

From September 1 to March 31 of the following year, a certified and registered pharmacy technician shall not count toward the pharmacist-to-technician ratio if such pharmacy technician:

  1. Is authorized to administer vaccines; and,
  2. Exclusively performs duties related to the administration of vaccines during such period.