Board of Control

The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station is governed by an eight-member board. Statutory authority of the Board is found in Connecticut General Statutes 22-79 through 22-83.


Current Members:

  • Governor Ned Lamont, ex officio (represented by Ms. Patti J. Maroney)
  • Commissioner of Agriculture Bryan Hurlburt 
  • Terry Jones of Shelton (Governor appointee)
  • Joan Nichols of Lebanon (Governor appointee)
  • Dr. Frederick M. Cohan, appointed by Board of Trustees of Wesleyan University
  • Dr. Erol Fikrig, appointed by the Governing Board of the Sheffield Scientific School, Yale University
  • Dr. Kumar Venkitanarayanan, appointed by the Board of Trustees of the University of Connecticut
  • CAES Director, Dr. Jason C. White, ex officio


  • President:  Governor Ned Lamont 
  • Vice President:  Terry Jones
  • Secretary: Dr. Kumar Venkitanarayanan
  • Director, Treasurer, and Attorney for Investments:  Dr. Jason C. White 

Executive and Finance Committee:

  • Terry Jones
  • Dr. Jason C. White
  • Joan Nichols

Meetings of Board:

The Board meets quarterly during the calendar year.


Scheduled Meetings in 2024-2025:

  • Tuesday, May 21, 2024, 10:00 a.m., New Haven--Special Meeting
  • Wednesday, August 7, 2024, 1:00 p.m., Hamden
  • Wednesday, October 9, 2024, 10:00 a.m., Windsor
  • Wednesday, January 22, 2025, 10:00 a.m., Wethersfield
    • Snow date: Friday, January 24, 2025, 10:00 a.m., Wethersfield
Board of Control Meeting Minutes: