Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the agency is closed to the public until further notice. Our staff continues to provide services through telework and will make every effort to continue agency operations to the greatest extent practicable. Our main number is 800-504-1102. For a complete directory of departments visit Contact Us. We will respond to voice mail and email communications as promptly as we can. Thank you for your understanding. Contact Us

2017-18 Subject Shortage Area or Priority School District Reemployment

A retired member may be reemployed in a designated Subject Shortage Area or in a school in a Priority School District and continue to receive pension income for a period of one school year.  (With prior approval by the Teachers’ Retirement Board, such reemployment may be extended for an additional school year.)  The employing school district must submit a Subject Shortage Area or Priority School District Reemployment Form (PDF 104KB) to CTRB prior to the reemployment of the retired member. 

Effective July 1, 2017, health insurance from the reemploying board of education is no longer legally required to be offered, but is not prohibited.

The Commissioner of Education has designated the following Subject Shortage Areas for 2017-18:

  • Bilingual Education, PK-12
  • Comprehensive Special Education, K-12
  • Mathematics, 7-12
  • Occupational Subject, Vocational Technical High School
  • School Library and Media Specialist
  • Science, 7-12
  • Speech and Language Pathologist
  • Technology Education, PK-12
  • TESOL, PK-12
  • World Languages, 7-12

The Designated Priority School Districts for 2017-18 are:

  • Ansonia
  • Bridgeport
  • Danbury
  • Derby
  • East Hartford
  • Hartford
  • Meriden
  • Manchester
  • New Britain
  • New Haven
  • New London
  • Norwalk
  • Norwich
  • Putnam "transitional district receiving phase-out funding in 2016-17"
  • Stamford
  • Waterbury
  • Windham