BERLIN. New Britain Youth Museum at Hungerford Park,
191 Farmington Ave., Kensington 06037. Tel., (860) 827-9064. Website: www.newbritainyouthmuseum.org
. Farm, pet, and exotic animals, exhibits, wildflower walk, picnicking, play scape, trails, pond, landscaped gardens, and changing exhibitions. Open 10:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M., Tues.-Sat.; closed Sun. and Mon. Seasonal special events. Admission: $6.00; children under 2 and members, free.
BLOOMFIELD. 4-H Development Fund, Inc.,
d.b.a. 4-H Education Center at Auerfarm,
158 Auer Farm Rd., 06002. Tel., (860) 242-7144. Exec. Dir.
, Elizabeth Bye; Teachers for Academic Lessons, Preschool and Family Programs,
Lynn Bestor, Lindsay Cook, Chelsey Hahn, Margaret Jerram, Dana Kuhl, Gary Melynson, Ellen Paine, Kim Read, Beth Rottblatt, Michelle Rozek, Isabel Volpe, Darlene Yule; Production and Facilities
, Ben Carroll, Cynthia Castrillo, Alison Grabarz, Frank Ravosa, Justin Whitehouse; Bd. members,
Mary Eberle, Tammy Exum, Dave Kopp, Kevin Krebsbach, Joey Listro, Bob Lyle, Cynthia McGinty, Emily Mooney-Scott, Kevin Palache, Vikki Reski, Carol Rosales, Jeff Small, Brenda Watson, Mark Weisman, vacancy; Volunteers,
vacancy. Website: www.auerfarm.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Science Education Elementary Middle School, Inquiry Science Preschool, Agriculture, Natural Science, and Horticulture Education High School. The 4H Education Center at Auerfarm is on historical Auerbach Farm, complete with demonstration gardens, farm animals, nature trails, exhibits, pastures, fields, elementary and middle school programs, pre-school programs, public programs, summer science programs, volunteer and service learning opportunities, special events, family celebrations, maple syrup, and apple cider making in season. Open to the public year round, 7 days a week for self-guided tours. Office open 8:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Mon.-Fri.
BRIDGEPORT. Housatonic Museum of Art,
Housatonic Community College, 900 Lafayette Blvd., 06604-4704. Tel., (203) 332-5052; FAX, (203) 332-5123. Dir.,
Robbin Zella. Website: www.housatonicmuseum.org
. Founded in 1967, the diverse Permanent Collection, with an emphasis on contemporary art, is exhibited throughout the college campus. The Museum schedules up to six changing exhibitions per year, which may initiate from the Permanent Collection, showcase the work of established or emerging artists, or feature important traveling exhibitions. The Museum is both a community and an academic resource, open to the public without charge replete with free parking. Open 8:30 A.M.-5:30 P.M., Mon.-Fri.; Thurs. evening until 7:00 P.M.; 9:00 A.M.-3:00 P.M., Sat.; call for summer and holiday hours (203) 332-5000; closed for all state and federal holidays.
BRIDGEPORT. The Barnum Museum,
820 Main St., 06604. Tel., (203) 331-1104; FAX, (203) 331-0079. Exec. Dir.,
Kathy Maher. Website: www.barnum-museum.org
. Established by the Great American Showman, P.T. Barnum, The Barnum Museum opened in 1893 and serves a national audience with educational programming and exhibitions that focus on 19th century American history, arts, and sciences. Artifacts including Tom Thumb's miniature carriages to Barnum's FeJee Mermaid are on display and guided tours are available. The historic landmark building is under restoration. The Museum's modern wing, People's United Bank Gallery, is open free to the public on a limited schedule: 11:00 A.M.-3:00 P.M., Thurs. and Fri.; 11:00 A.M.-3:00 P.M., Sat. from June through Labor Day weekend, and at other times for programs and lectures. Admission fees apply for some programs. Handicapped accessible. Please visit our Website: www.barnum-museum.org
for the most up-to-date information.
BRIDGEPORT. The Discovery Museum and Planetarium,
4450 Park Ave., 06604. One mile south of Merritt Parkway (Rte. 15), Exit 47. Tel., (203) 372-3521; FAX, (203) 374-1929. Exec. Dir.
, Bill Finch. Website: www.discoverymuseum.org
. Hands-on children's museum showcasing learning fun. Explore the cosmos with daily planetarium shows, included in admission. Touch a meteorite that fell to Earth 50,000 years ago. Capture the thrill of wild weather, take a tour of exoplanets, or unlock the Secrets of the Earth on a giant 3-D sphere. Discover an "Energy Network" with catapults solar power and simple machines. Test physics (without even knowing!) using pulley chairs, levers, and giant magnets. Create a masterpiece on a massive Light-Brite station, or challenge yourself in the "Dare to Discover" gallery. Fly missions to the Moon in simulated NASA space missions at Discovery's Challenger Center (for groups/parties). STEM education programs/demos/learning labs. Traveling science comes to your venue. Weekly summer programs for kids grades K-9. Scout science badges, overnights, birthdays, events, corporate rentals. Open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Sun.; plus Mon., Jul.-Aug. and select school holidays. Admission: $11.00 adults; $9.00 children (3-17), seniors, students with ID, teachers with ID; $8.00 special needs guests; children under 3 free.
BRISTOL. The American Clock and Watch Museum, Inc.,
100 Maple St., 06010. Tel., (860) 583-6070; FAX, (860) 583-1862. Pres.,
John Smayda; Treas.,
Michael Nicastro; Exec. Dir.,
Patricia Philippon. Website: www.clockandwatchmuseum.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Open Apr.-Nov., 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., daily; winter hours: Dec.-Mar., 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Fri., Sat., and Sun. only. Admission: $6.00 adults; $5.00 seniors; $3.00 children (8-17); please contact the museum for group rates.
BROOKFIELD. Brookfield Museum & Historical Society,
165 Whisconier Rd. (at the intersection of Rte. 25 and Rte. 133 in Brookfield), P.O. Box 5231, 06804. Website: www.brookfieldcthistory.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Local history museum and research library in the center of Brookfield's National Register Historic District, Civil War library, genealogy library, museum store. The museum building is Brookfield's 1876 former town hall. Historic formal colonial garden adjacent to museum. Exhibits open Noon-4:00 P.M. every Sat. and by special appointment by calling the museum at Tel., (203) 740-8140.
CANTERBURY. Prudence Crandall Museum,
1 So. Canterbury Rd., 06331; Mailing Address: P.O. Box 58, 06331. National Historical Landmark/State Archaeological Preserve/Connecticut Freedom Trail Site administered by the State Historic Preservation Office and Dept. of Economic and Community Development. Museum is site of the first academy for African-American young women in the Nation (1833-34), established by Prudence Crandall, State Heroine. The museum has period rooms, permanent and changing exhibits, in-house research library, and museum shop. The Museum is located on Route 169, a National Scenic Byway. For information on hours and admission fees, call Tel., (860) 546-7800 or (860) 500-2360, visit Website: www.cultureandtourism.org
or email at Crandal.email@example.com
CANTON. Roaring Brook Nature Center,
off Rte. 44, 70 Gracey Rd., 06019. Tel., (860) 693-0263. Website: www.roaringbrook.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Part of The Children's Museum of West Hartford, Roaring Brook Nature Center in Canton welcomes visitors to a unique interpretive center that features exhibits and touchscreen information about Connecticut's woodlands and wetlands, its Native American history, and its wildlife, including birds of prey. The grounds include outdoor bird of prey enclosures and turtle ponds, a native plant and butterfly garden, a vernal pool observation deck, and over five miles of trails for hiking and winter cross-country skiing in the adjoining Werner's Woods, where visitors can explore the forest, streams, ponds, and fields. Programming throughout the year includes school and scout groups, birthday parties, after-school classes for children and adults, evening and weekend activities, school vacation programs and summer educational enrichment programs, special events, concerts, and rentals as well as extensive natural science outreach programs in schools. The store is stocked with nature-related items. Roaring Brook Nature Center is open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Sat.; 1:00 P.M.-5:00 P.M., Sun.; closed Mon., except during Jul. and Aug.; closed New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Hiking trails open daily, dawn until dusk. Admission: $7.00 adults and youth (12+); $6.00 seniors (62+); $5.00 children (2-12); children under 2, free.
DANBURY. Danbury Museum and Historical Society Authority,
43 Main St., 06810. Tel., (203) 743-5200. Website: www.danburymuseum.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. (History Museum, Historic Buildings, Reference Library, Exhibition Hall.) Museum offices, exhibit hall, gift shop and archival library are open 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Tues.-Sat. Tours of historic buildings 10:00 A.M.- 4:00 P.M., Saturdays only. The Charles Ives Birthplace, 5 Mountainville Ave., open by appointment.
EAST GRANBY. Old New-Gate Prison and Copper Mine,
115 Newgate Rd., 06026; Mailing Address: P.O. Box 254, 06026-0254. National Historic Landmark/State Archaeological Preserve administered by the State Historic Preservation Office and Dept. of Economic and Community Development. Tunnels left behind by miners burrowing deep underground in search of copper ore became Connecticut's first prison in 1773. Political prisoners were confined here during the Revolutionary War and female prisoners were incarcerated starting in 1824. The prison closed in 1827. The museum is open during the summer season. For information call (860) 500-2360 or (860) 500-2460 or visit Website: www.cultureandtourism.org
EAST HAVEN. Shore Line Trolley Museum,
17 River St., 06512-2519. Tel., (203) 467-6927; FAX, (203) 467-7635. Website: www.shorelinetrolley.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Transportation museum: street, railway, and rapid transit cars in operation and on display; rides and guided tours; educational programs for children and adults; special events; artifact display at visitors' center; library and research materials available. The museum is enrolled on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Dept. of the Interior. Special features include: world's first electric freight locomotive, world's oldest rapid transit car, world's oldest horse drawn streetcar, and rare operational trolley parlor car. Open 11:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Tues.-Sun., Memorial Day-Labor Day; weekends, April, May, Sept.-Dec. For special events Admission: $10.00 adults; $7.00 seniors (62+); $7.00 children (2-15); children under 2, free. Note: Higher fares may apply during certain special event days. Special rates for charters, parties, and groups.
EAST WINDSOR. Connecticut Fire Museum,
P.O. Box 297, 58 North Rd., Rte. 140, I-91, Exit 45, 06088-0360. Website: www.ceraweb.org/visit/firemuseum.php
. On the same grounds as the Connecticut Trolley Museum. The Connecticut Fire Museum, also known as the Trolley Museum Fire Dept., is dedicated to the preservation and appreciation of antique fire apparatus and associated equipment. A nonprofit and historical association, Connecticut Antique Fire Apparatus Association, Inc., the parent organization of the Connecticut Fire Museum, was organized in 1968, incorporated in 1971, and opened its current facilities to the public in 1975. Special events held throughout the year. Group tour reservations welcome. Restrooms, visitors' center. For further information and group tour rates, Tel., (860) 627-6540.
EAST WINDSOR. Connecticut Trolley Museum,
P.O. Box 360, 58 North Rd., Rte. 140, I-91, Exit 45, 06088-0360. Website: www.ct-trolley.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Transportation Museum. Visitors ride 3.0 miles round trip on antique trolley cars through the scenic Connecticut countryside. Major Events: Rails to the Dark Side, Pumpkin Patch for Kids, Winterfest/Tunnel of Lights. Displays: Trolley Visitors Center with some of our more than 50 vintage 1894 to 1949 trolley cars, Antique Fire Museum. Restrooms in Visitors Center. Group tour reservations welcome. For further information and group tour rates, Tel., (860) 627-6540.
ESSEX. Connecticut River Museum at Steamboat Dock,
67 Main St., 06426. Tel., (860) 767-8269; FAX, (860) 767-7028. Exec. Dir.,
Tom Wilcox. Website: www.ctrivermuseum.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Housed in an 1878 Steamboat Dock warehouse and located on the spectacular Essex waterfront, the Connecticut River Museum tells the river's story through interactive exhibitions, special programs, workshops, and events. Featured is a working reproduction of the American Turtle, America's first submarine. Open 7 days a week (Memorial Day-Labor Day), Tues.-Sun. (Sept.-May). Call for hours. Admission: $10.00 adults; $8.00 seniors and Military; $7.00 students; $6.00 children (age 6-12); children under 6 and members, free. The Connecticut River Museum also offers daytime and evening river cruises seasonally.
FARMINGTON. Hill-Stead Museum,
35 Mountain Rd., 06032-2304. Website: www.hillstead.org
. Established as a museum in 1946 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1991, this outstanding example of Colonial Revival domestic architecture is set on 152 acres of park-like fields and woodlands. The museum, accredited by the American Association of Museums in 2003, houses masterpieces by Monet, Degas, Manet, Cassatt, and Whistler exhibited with Japanese woodblock prints, original furnishings, and decorative arts from when the Pope and Riddle families were in residence. The 1901 house is complemented by walking trails, nine historic buildings, miles of stone walls, and a circa 1920 Beatrix Farrand-designed Sunken Garden, today the site of an acclaimed poetry and music festival. The museum is open 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Tues.-Sun. for house tours. Grounds open 7:30 A.M.-5:30 P.M., daily. Closed New Year's Day, Easter Sunday, Independence Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Admission: $16.00 adults; $14.00 seniors; $12.00 students; $8.00 children ages 6-12; children under 6 and members, free. For more information, volunteer opportunities, or a calendar of events, call Tel.,(860) 677-4787 or visit website.
FARMINGTON. Stanley-Whitman House,
37 High St., 06032. Tel., (860) 677-9222. Exec. Dir./Curator,
Andres A. Verzosa. Website: www.stanleywhitman.org
. Early New England frame house built by John Stanley in 1720, opened as a museum in 1935, and named a National Historic Landmark in 1961. Historic house features period furnishings and guided tours to represent the lives of Farmington families in the 18th century. The grounds reflect the utilitarian uses of a colonial dooryard with its culinary, medicinal, and herbal plantings. Historic house tours and museum hours: 9:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Wed.-Sun. Closed major holidays. Group tours by appointment. Admission for house tours: $7.00 adults; $5.00 seniors (63+); $4.00 children (5-18), children under 6, free; $5.00 AAA members. Admission to rest of museum is free.
GREENWICH. National Audubon Society,
613 Riversville Rd., 06831. Tel., (203) 869-5272; FAX, (203) 869-4437. Exec. Dir.,
Ana Paula Tavares. Website: www.ct.audubon.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Nature centers in Greenwich, Sharon, and Southbury, with interpretive buildings, and 4,662 acres of sanctuary land. Centers open 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., daily; interpretive buildings are closed major holidays. Admission: $3.00 adults; $1.50 children and senior citizens; National Audubon Society members, free.
GREENWICH. Bruce Museum,
1 Museum Dr., 06830 (Exit 3 off 1-95). Tel., (203) 869-0376. Exec. Dir./CEO,
Peter C. Sutton. Website: www.brucemuseum.org
. Museum of fine arts and science galleries offering related programs for all ages and all abilities. Permanent galleries include minerals, formation of Long Island Sound, a woodland diorama, and a marine tank that features animals of Long Island Sound. Educational programs at the museum and extension programs into area schools. The Bruce Museum is accessible to individuals with disabilities. Open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Sun.; closed Mon. and major holidays. Admission: $10.00 adults; $8.00 senior citizens (65 and up) and students (5-22 with valid ID); children under 5 and museum members, free: EBT card holders, free; free admission for all on Tues. Museum shop open during museum hours. Free parking on grounds.
GROTON. Historic Ship Nautilus/Submarine Force Museum,
1 Crystal Lake Rd., 06340; Mailing Address: Naval Submarine Base New London, Groton 06349-5571. Tel., (860) 694-3174; Toll Free, 1-800-343-0079; FAX, (860) 694-4150. Museum Dir.,
Bradley Boyd. Website: www.ussnautilus.org
. The museum documents the development of submarines, from David Bushnell's Turtle, constructed in 1776, to the Navy's modern submarines. It is the Navy's official submarine museum. Visitors can tour the Nautilus, the first nuclear-powered submarine. There is bus and RV parking and a picnic area that has seating for up to 50. The museum has a gift shop. Open winter--Nov. 1-Apr. 30, 9:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., daily; closed Tues. Open summer--May 1-Oct. 31, 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., daily; closed Tues. The museum is closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day. The museum and historic ship Nautilus are closed biannually for routine upkeep: For the spring upkeep, we close starting Mon. of the last week of Mar. through the first week of Apr. For the fall upkeep, we close starting Mon. of the first full week in Nov. The museum reopens seven days later, and the ship reopens 14 days later. Admission and parking are free. Reservations required for groups of 25 or more.
GUILFORD. Henry Whitfield State Museum (Old Stone House),
248 Old Whitfield St., 06437-3459. National Historic Landmark/State Archaeological Preserve administered by the State Historic Preservation Office and Dept. of Economic and Community Development. This rare medieval design building is the oldest house in Connecticut and the oldest stone dwelling in New England (1639). Opened as the State Historical Museum in 1899, it features 17th- to 19th-century furnishings, exhibits, and a visitor center with galleries, shop, and research library. It is located on the New England National Scenic Trail. For information on hours and admission fees, call Tel., (203) 453-2457, visit Website: www.cultureandtourism.org
or E-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org
HARTFORD. Arts at Trinity,
Trinity College, 300 Summit St., 06106-3100. Box office Tel., (860) 297-2199. Website: www.trincoll.edu
. Performing and Visual Arts. Austin Arts Center: Goodwin Theater, Garmany Hall, Widener Gallery, Gruss Music Center. Also, Broad Street Gallery, the Performance Lab at Trinity Commons.
. The Hartford Public High School Museum & Archive,
55 Forest St., 06105. Tel., (860) 695-1405 or visit Website: https://hphs1638.wordpress.com
. Managed by the HPHS Museum Advisory Committee. The museum is located in the school and contains two areas: the museum display room and the archive. Hartford Public High School traces its history back to 1638 when Thomas Hooker started a Latin school for boys; it is the second oldest secondary school in the United States. The museum preserves the history of the school and its unique relationship with the City of Hartford. Featured items on display are paintings, graphics, photographs, classbooks for 1896-2010, school furniture, plaster casts of classical and 18th-century sculptures, antique science apparati, memorabilia, and architectural fragments from the 1883-1897 building on the former Hopkins Street. The archive preserves manuscripts, school records, photographic collections, the Owlet
newspaper (1919-1989), the Chronicle
literary publication (1891-1992), correspondence, school records, antique books, and memorabilia. The Lewis Fox Library nearby displays six paintings of principals by renowned Hartford artists such as Charles Noel Flagg. The large Stuart Munro-Lenox replica George Washington
(early 19th-Century) is on display above the fireplace from the 1883 building. The museum is open to the public, free of charge, by appointment only. Closed on school holidays and during Jul. and Aug.
HARTFORD. Connecticut Historical Society Museum and Library,
1 Elizabeth St., 06105. Tel., (860) 236-5621. Website: www.chs.org
. From programs for adults and kids to award-winning exhibits to a nationally significant research collection, the Connecticut Historical Society provides countless opportunities to actively explore Connecticut's diverse history. The permanent exhibit Making Connecticut
displays over 500 historic objects, documents, and images spanning more than 400 years of our state's history and traces themes like immigration, social change, fashion, transportation, recreation, home life, and Connecticut at war. Hands-on activities throughout help kids of all ages connect to the big ideas. The CHS also features a permanent display of the nation's largest collection of early American inn and tavern signs and additional changing exhibits. The store offers Connecticut-made gifts, books, souvenirs, and refreshments. Museum and Research Center hours: Noon-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Thurs.; 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Fri. and Sat.; closed major holidays. Group tours available for students and adults by reservation. Ample free parking. Check the website for directions, current exhibits, program listings, admission fees, and more information about the research center.
HARTFORD. Harriet Beecher Stowe Center,
77 Forest St., 06105-3243. Tel., (860) 522-9258, ext. 317. Website: harrietbeecherstowe.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. A National Historic Landmark connecting Harriet Beecher Stowe's life and work to contemporary social justice issues. Stowe's best-selling anti-slavery novel, Uncle Tom's Cabin,
changed how many Americans viewed slavery and galvanized the abolition movement before the Civil War. The Stowe Center offers interactive and engaging tours connecting the historic issues of Stowe's time to contemporary topics and inspires visitors to take action on issues meaningful to them. The site includes the 19th-century Harriet Beecher Stowe House and the adjacent Katharine Seymour Day House as well as the surrounding Victorian gardens. Additional offerings include "The Family Tour," offered during school breaks or by appointment. Group tours and education programs for school groups and others are offered by advance reservation. In addition to the tour experience, the Stowe Center presents regularly scheduled public programs and events, including Salons at Stowe
, a community dialogue focusing on contemporary issues, and a community celebration of Stowe's birthday. The museum store and the Stowe Visitor Center also welcome visitors. Open year round; 10:30 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Mon., Wed.-Sat., and Noon-5:00 P.M., Jan.-Mar., and Nov.-Dec.; 9:30 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Mon.-Sat. and Noon-5:00 P.M., Sun., Apr.-Dec. Last tour steps off at 4:00 P.M.; closed Tues., Jan.-Mar. and Nov.-Dec., New Year's Day, Easter Sunday, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day; open M.L. King Day, Presidents' Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, and Columbus Day, 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M. House tour admission: $16.00 adults (17-64); $14.00 seniors (65+) and students with ID; $10.00 children (5-16); children under 5, free. Check website for prices for specialty tours and for details on other programs.
HARTFORD. The Mark Twain House and Museum,
351 Farmington Ave., 06105-4498. Tel., (860) 247-0998. Exec. Dir.,
Pieter Roos. Website: www.MarkTwainHouse.org
. National Historic Landmark. Guided tours take visitors through the 25-room Victorian home where Samuel Clemens/Mark Twain lived, wrote The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
and Adventures of Huckleberry Finn,
among other classics, and raised his family between 1874 and 1891, his most productive period as an author. The house features one of only two domestic interiors designed by Louis Comfort Tiffany that is open to the public. The house was also named by National Geographic
as one of the Ten Best Historic Homes in the World, with Mount Vernon and Monticello being the only other U.S. houses so designated. The tour includes the Clemens family's living quarters and also highlights the servants' wing with the kitchen, butler's pantry, and more. A 33,000-sq.-ft. museum center offers a permanent orientation exhibit, 1,000-sq.-ft. museum store, 176-seat lecture hall, 2,000-sq.-ft. exhibition gallery, 75-seat theater for viewing of introductory video by Ken Burns, two classrooms, and expanded visitor amenities. Open 9:30 A.M.-5:30 P.M. daily; closed Tues., Jan.-Feb.; closed New Year's Day, Easter Sunday, Independence Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, and Christmas. Visitors should allow a minimum of two hours for tour and museum center. Admission: $20.00 adults (17-64); $18.00 seniors (65+); $11.00 children (6-16); children under 6, free.
HARTFORD. Museum of Connecticut History,
231 Capitol Ave., 06106. Tel., (860) 757-6535; FAX, (860) 757-6521. Museum Admin.,
Dean Nelson. Website: http://museumofcthistory.org
. State-owned museum operated by the Connecticut State Library. Memorial Hall features the official collection of Connecticut governors' portraits, the "Fundamental Orders" of 1638-39 (which made Connecticut the "Constitution State"), the Royal Charter of 1662, and the State Constitutions of 1818 and 1965. The exhibit "Liberties and Legends" highlights the enduring legacy of the Charter Oak. The world-famous Colt Firearms Collection is on permanent display; other exhibits explore various aspects of Connecticut's long political, industrial, and military heritage. Open to the public free of charge, 9:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Mon.-Fri.; 9:00 A.M.-2:00 P.M., Sat.; closed Sun., state holidays, state holiday weekends.
. Connecticut's Old Statehouse,
800 Main St., Hartford 06103. Tel., (860) 522-6766; FAX, (860) 522-2812. Exec. Dir.,
Sally Whipple. Website: www.ctoldstatehouse.org
. E-mail: OldStateHouseNews@cga.ct.gov
. Facebook: www.facebook.com/CTOldStateHouse
. Twitter: www.twitter.com/CTOldStateHouse
. Instagram: http://instagram.com/ctoldstatehouse
. YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/CTOldStateHouse
. Operated by the Connecticut General Assembly. Begin your visit to Hartford with a guided or self-guided tour of this 1796 National Historic Landmark, one of the nation's oldest state houses. Hands-on and family-friendly activities can be found throughout the building. Explore the exciting 6,800-sq.-ft. multimedia exhibit, History Is All Around Us,
in the Mortensen Gallery, which tells the story of Hartford and the importance of history in our lives. Also, check out oddities in our always-popular recreation of Joseph Steward's Museum of Curiosities, located on the second floor near the historically restored legislative chambers. The Old State House is open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M. (with the last ticket sold at 4 P.M.), Tues.-Sat., Independence Day-Columbus Day (Summer Schedule); 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M. (with the last ticket sold at 4 P.M.), Mon.-Fri., following Columbus Day weekend-July 3 (Regular Schedule). Admission (unless otherwise noted): $6.00 for adults; $3.00 for seniors, students, youths (6-17), and AAA members (with card); free for children (5 and under), U.S. Military Veterans (with VA card), and active military members (with military ID). Adult Group Admission available for $5 per person with minimum charge of $50 (must call ahead). Open year round. Building is closed on state holidays. The building is air conditioned/heated and handicapped accessible.
HARTFORD. Wadsworth Atheneum Museum of Art,
600 Main St., 06103. Tel., (860) 278-2670. Website: www.TheWadsworth.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Discover a treasure-trove of art! The Wadsworth's Atheneum's collection of over 50,000 works of art spans 5,000 years of world history, from ancient works to installations by contemporary artists. Visit the country's oldest continuously operating public art museum to experience this engaging collection of American and European paintings, sculpture, and decorative arts. Temporary special exhibitions complement the permanent collection, making every visit to the museum an opportunity to view new masterpieces. Tours of the permanent collection at 1:00 P.M. daily and of a special exhibition at 2:30 P.M. on weekends. Café open until 3:30 P.M. See website for parking details and admission fees. Open 11:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Wed.-Fri.; 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Sat. and Sun.; closed Mon., Tues., New Year's Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Free until 1:00 P.M. on the second Sat. each month. Admission includes access to The Amistad Center for Art & Culture. Additional charges apply to the annual fundraisers, "Fine Art & Flowers" (spring) and "Festival of Trees & Traditions" (early December).
. The Eric Sloane Museum,
31 Kent-Cornwall Rd., 06757; Mailing Address: P.O. Box 917, 06757-0917. Administered by the State Historic Preservation Office and Dept. of Economic and Community Development. Museum showcases the collection of early American hand tools and implements assembled by artist and author Eric Sloane. Examples of his artwork and his re-created artist's studio are also on display. Ruins of Kent Iron Furnace (National Register of Historic Places and State Archaeological Preserve) on grounds. The museum is open seasonally. For information on hours and admission fees, call Tel., (860) 927-3849 or Tel., (860) 500-2360 (weekdays) or visit Website: www.cultureandtourism.org
LEBANON. Jonathan Trumbull Jr. House Museum,
780 Trumbull Hwy. (Rte. 87), 06249. Website: www.lebanonct.gov/trumbulljuniormuseum.htm
. Owned and operated by town of Lebanon. Built circa 1769, this Georgian-style house features eight corner fireplaces and beautifully carved woodwork by Isaac Fitch. Jonathan Trumbull Jr. was military secretary to Gen. George Washington during the American Revolution and governor of Connecticut from 1797-1809. Gen. Washington spent the night here March 4, 1781. Reproduction period furnishings are usable by visitors. Hands-on house tours illustrate architectural, social, and cultural change over a 240-year period. Heritage gardens and ancient Ginkgo tree enhance the grounds. Located on mile-long historic Lebanon Green. Open Noon-4:00 P.M., Sat. and Sun., mid-May to mid-Oct., and year round by appointment. For information, contact 1st Selectman, 579 Exeter Rd., Lebanon. Tel., (860) 642-6100 weekdays or visit Website: www.cultureandtourism.org
LEBANON. Lebanon Historical Society Museum and Visitors' Center,
856 Trumbull Hwy., Rte. 87, 06249; Mailing Address: P.O. Box 151, 06249-0151. Tel., (860) 642-6579. Dir.,
Donna Baron. Website: www.historyoflebanon.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Owned and operated by the Lebanon Historical Society, Inc. Explore Lebanon's rich and diverse history at this modern museum located on the historic Lebanon Green. The museum facility includes an interactive exhibition on Lebanon in the Revolution as well as rotating exhibitions, library/genealogical research center, and visitor services. The Beaumont House and the Pastor's Library, located on our campus, are opened seasonally for guided tours on most Saturdays. Public programs are offered on a regular basis. Open Noon-4:00 P.M., Wed.-Sat., year round. The genealogical research center is open Noon-4:00 P.M., Wed.-Fri., and most Saturdays. Appointments appreciated. For information, contact the Lebanon Historical Society Museum.
LITCHFIELD. The Litchfield History Museum and Tapping Reeve House and Law School,
7 South St., 06759; Mailing Address: P.O. Box 385, 06759-0385. Tel., (860) 567-4501. Educator,
Kate Zullo; Curator,
Alexander DuBois; Archivist,
Linda Hocking; Exec. Dir.,
Catherine Keene Fields. Website: www.litchfieldhistoricalsociety.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. The Litchfield History Museum and Tapping Reeve House and Law School are open 11:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Sat.; 1:00 P.M.-5:00 P.M., Sun., mid-Apr.-Nov. The Ingraham Memorial Research Library is open 10:00 A.M.-Noon and 1:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M., Tues.-Fri., year round.
LITCHFIELD. White Memorial Conservation Center,
80 Whitehall Rd., P.O. Box 368, 06759-0368. Website: www.whitememorialcc.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Located on the grounds of the 4,000-acre White Memorial Foundation Wildlife Sanctuary. Natural history exhibits, gift shop, and educational activities. Trails for hiking, cross-country skiing, and horseback riding as well as a self-guiding nature trail and unique nature trail of the senses. Fishing, swimming, boating, and camping also available. Grounds open all year every day. Museum open 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Mon.-Sat.; Noon-5:00 P.M., Sun.; closed major holidays. Admission to grounds free. Museum membership open to public. Fee for non-members. For program information, call Tel., (860) 567-0857.
MANCHESTER. Lutz Children's Museum,
247 So. Main St., 06040. Tel., (860) 643-0949. Exec. Dir.,
Robert Eckert. Website: www.lutzmuseum.org
. Live animals, hands-on exhibits, classes, collection of artifacts, trips, concerts, special events, and nature center. Open 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Fri.; Noon-5:00 P.M., Sat. and Sun.; closed Mon. Admission: $7.00 adults and children (over one year old); members free. Group tours by appointment.
MANSFIELD. Connecticut State Museum of Natural History and Office of State Archaeology,
The University of Connecticut Unit 3023, 75 N Eagleville Rd., Storrs 06269-3023. Tel., (860) 486-4460. Dir.,
Dr. Janine N. Caira; State Archaeologist,
Dr. Brian Jones. Website: www.mnh.uconn.edu
. E-mail: CSMNHinfo@uconn.edu
. In its fundamental mission and work, the Museum actively advances the University of Connecticut’s core academic traditions—traditions built not only on creating and passing knowledge to future generations, but on sharing this knowledge to improve public understanding and appreciation of natural and cultural history, the living world, and our state’s archaeological heritage. Through unique events and activities, the Museum provides opportunities for people of all ages to interact with, and learn from, leading scholars while showcasing the teaching, research, and resources of the University, which include world class biological and archaeological collections. Through changing exhibits located in multiple campus buildings, the Museum enhances academic learning and student life at the University while it also creates new educational experiences for K-12 students, teachers, and adult learners in the broader community across the State.
MANSFIELD. The William Benton Museum of Art, Connecticut's State Art Museum.
The University of Connecticut, 245 Glenbrook Rd., Unit 3140, Storrs 06269-3140. Tel., (860) 486-4520; FAX, (860) 486-0234. Exec. Dir.,
Nancy Stula, Ph.D. Website: www.benton.uconn.edu
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Located at the heart of the University of Connecticut campus at Storrs, the museum has a collection of over 6,500 works of art dating from the 15th through the 21st centuries in a variety of media. The museum also creates up to 10 special exhibitions per year drawn from the collection, from other museums or galleries, or loaned exhibitions. Special events include gallery talks, campus art walks, academic and non-academic discussions, musical performances, and family programs. The museum serves the students of the University of Connecticut and the people of the State of Connecticut. Exhibition galleries and Museum Store are open (during exhibit periods) 10:00 A.M.-4:30 P.M., Tues.-Fri.; 1:00 P.M.-4:30 P.M., Sat. and Sun. No admission charge; donations are appreciated.
MASHANTUCKET. Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center,
110 Pequot Trail, P.O. Box 3180, CT 06338-3180. Tel., Toll Free, 1-800-411-9671. Website: www.pequotmuseum.org
. The center houses 85,000 sq. ft. of permanent exhibits on the natural and Native history of Southern New England and beyond, including multi-sensory dioramas, films, videos, and 3D computer interactive programs. A walk through the 16th-century Pequot village features 13 wigwams and 51 lifelike figures posed in activities from daily life. Another highlight is the caribou hunt diorama, a scene depicting life in southeastern Connecticut 11,000 years ago. Historical artifacts and original Native artwork are also on display. The library, archives, and special collections serve as resources on the histories and cultures of all Native peoples of the United States and Canada. Restaurant and gift shop. On-site parking; regular shuttles from Foxwoods Resort Casino, one mile away. Take I-395, Exit 79A, or I-95, Exit 92, and follow signs to the Mashantucket Pequot Reservation and the museum. Open 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M. (last admission at 4:00 P.M.), Wed.-Sat.; closed seasonally the Sunday after Thanksgiving and reopening in the spring the following year. Visit www.pequotmuseum.org
for seasonal closure information. Admission: $20.00 adults; $15.00 seniors (65+) and college students; $12.00 youth (6-17); children under 6, free.
MIDDLETOWN. Wesleyan University,
Davison Art Center, 301 High St., 06459. Tel., (860) 685-2500. Curator,
Miya Tokumitsu. Website: www.wesleyan.edu/dac
. Open Noon-4:00 P.M., Tues.-Sun., Sept.-May; closed holidays and during academic vacations. Free admission.
MYSTIC. Mystic Aquarium,
55 Coogan Blvd. (Exit 90, off I-95), 06355-1997. Tel., (860) 572-5955. Website: www.mysticaquarium.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Mystic Aquarium is counted among the nation's leading aquariums with more than 300 species and an extensive collection of marine mammals. Travel Mystic Aquarium’s indoor and outdoor exhibits to visit with beluga whales, African penguins, rescued seals, colorful fish and more. Roll up your sleeves and touch a shark, stingray or even an exotic reptile. Complimentary sea lion shows provide a truly unique opportunity to see these fascinating animals up-close and in action. As a pioneer in interactive guest experiences, Mystic Aquarium offers a variety of encounter programs with a range of marine animals for guests looking to enhance their Aquarium experience. Now taking over the Ocean Conservation Center, Jurassic Giants: A Dinosaur Adventure, has dinos that ‘fly’ above, lurk around every corner and get you thinking about how to protect our planet. Plus, a robust schedule of shows in our two theaters, seasonal events, activities and more make the Aquarium a year-round destination worth revisiting often! Discover your world and sea more at Mystic Aquarium.
With a mission to inspire people to care for and protect our ocean planet, Mystic Aquarium is proud of its conservation, education, and research efforts, as well as the work done through its Animal Rescue Program, which covers over 1,000 miles along the Northeastern coast. To learn more visit: www.mysticaquarium.org
Mystic Aquarium is open daily, except for Thanksgiving and Christmas. Hours vary seasonally and are subject to change. Please visit website for current hours of operation. For group reservations, please call (860) 572-5955, ext. 520.
MYSTIC. Mystic Seaport Museum,
75 Greenmanville Ave., P.O. Box 6000, 06355-0990. Tel., (860) 572-0711. Website: www.mysticseaport.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Nation's leading maritime museum featuring historic ships and watercraft, a planetarium, exhibits, and educational programs focused on the stories of America and the sea. Also, a research library, an historic artifact collections center, and a working preservation shipyard. Operated by Mystic Seaport Museum, Inc. Tel., (860) 572-0711. Open 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Thurs.-Sun., Jan. 1-Mar. 22; 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., daily, Mar. 23-Oct. 25; 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., daily, Oct. 26-Nov. 29; open 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Thurs.-Sun., Nov. 30-Jan. 2, 2020; closed Dec. 24-25; open daily, 10 A.M.-4 P.M., Dec. 26-31. Admission: $28.95 adults; $26.95 seniors (65+), active duty military, and college students with ID; $24.95 youth (13-17); $18.95 children (3-12); children 2 and under, free.
NAUGATUCK. Naugatuck Historical Society Museum,
171 Church St., 06770. Tel., (203) 729-9039. Website: www.naugatuckhistory.org/museum.htm
. Dedicated to the history of Naugatuck and the local area.
NEW BRITAIN. New Britain Museum of American Art,
56 Lexington St., 06052. Tel., (860) 229-0257; FAX, (860) 229-3445. Website: www.nbmaa.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. The first museum dedicated solely to collecting American art, the NBMAA is renowned for its preeminent collection spanning three centuries of American history. The award-winning 43,000 sq.-ft. Chase Family Building, which opened in 2006 to critical and public acclaim, and the newest addition, the 17,346 sq.-ft. Art & Education Building, feature 22 spacious galleries that showcase the permanent collection and upwards of 12 special exhibitions annually featuring American masters, emerging artists, and private collections. Education and community outreach programs for all ages include docent-led school and adult tours, teacher services, studio classes (in three new art studios) and vacation programs, gallery talks, lectures, symposia, concerts, film, First Friday jazz evenings, and quarterly Museum After Dark parties for young professionals. Enjoy Café on the Park for a light lunch prepared by Riverhouse Catering. Visit the Museum Shop for unique gifts. Drop by the "ArtLab" learning gallery with your little ones. Open year round, closed Mondays; 11:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Sun., Tues., Wed., Fri.; 11:00 A.M.-8:00 P.M., Thurs.; 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Sat.; closed New Year's Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, Day after Thanksgiving, and Christmas Day; closing at 2:00 p.m. on Christmas Eve (closed if holiday occurs on Monday). Tours for school and adult groups (ext. 235) are available by appointment and should be booked four weeks in advance. Admission: $15.00 adults; $12.00 senior citizens; $10.00 students; children under 12, free. Free admission from 10:00 A.M.-Noon on Sat.
NEW BRITAIN. New Britain Youth Museum,
30 High St., 06051. Tel., (860) 225-3020. Website: www.newbritainyouthmuseum.org
. Changing exhibits of cultural and historic interest. Some exhibits lend themselves to participation. Open 10:30 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Tues.-Sat.; closed Sun. and Mon. Summer hours: 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Mon.-Fri.; closed Sat. and Sun. Admission $2.00, under age 2 and members free.
NEW CANAAN. New Canaan Nature Center,
144 Oenoke Ridge, 06840. Tel., (203) 966-9577; FAX, (203) 966-6536. Exec. Dir.,
Bill Flynn; Dir. of Finance and Human Resources,
Chelsey Hobby; Dir. of Marketing and Special Events,
Jennifer Rayher; Dir. Preschool,
Marianne Kay; Development Dir.,
Katie Harris; Pres., Bd. of Trustees,
Linda Andros; Buildings and Grounds Mgr.,
Gianni DeScenza. Website: www.newcanaannature.org
. Natural science and horticulture Education. Nature trails, exhibits, visitors' center, flight cages with several different birds of prey, greenhouse, gardens, arboretum, children's play garden and boxwood maze, school programs, public programs, preschool, summer camp, birthday parties, volunteer programs, Secret Gardens tour in June, Annual Lecture and Luncheon in May, beer festival and (separately) a traditional family Fall Fair in October, Winter Wonderland with extensive train exhibit and chance to visit with Santa in December; maple syrup and apple cider making in season. Buildings open 9:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Mon.-Sat. Grounds open dawn-dusk daily.
NEW HAVEN. Yale Center for British Art
, 1080 Chapel St., P.O. Box 208280, 06520-8280. Tel., (203) 432-2800; Toll Free in U.S., 1-877-BRITART; FAX, (203) 432-4538. Dir.,
Amy Meyers; Head of Communications and Marketing,
April Swieconek. Website: www.britishart.yale.edu
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. YCBA houses the largest collection of British art outside the United Kingdom, encompassing works in a range of media from the 15th century to the present day. Free and open to the public. Offers exhibitions and programs, including lectures, concerts, films, symposia, tours, and family events. Museum open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Sat.; Noon-5:00 P.M., Sun. Museum Shop open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Mon.-Sat.; Noon-5:00 P.M., Sun. Admission free.
NEW HAVEN. Yale Peabody Museum of Natural History,
Yale University, 170 Whitney Ave., P.O. Box 208118, 06520-8118. Tel., (203) 432-3738; Groups, Tel., (203) 432-3775. Dir.,
David Skelly; Public Relations,
Melanie Brigockas. Website: www.peabody.yale.edu
. E-mail: email@example.com
. The Peabody is a family-friendly museum that combines intimate size with world-class collections spanning 4.5 billion years of Earth history. The vertebrate paleontology collection, begun by O.C. Marsh, is the third largest in the nation and its meteorite collection the oldest. Dominating the Great Hall are the 150-million-year-old skeletons of Brontosaurus
and Rudolph Zallinger's masterpiece, The Age of Reptiles,
a 110’ mural showcasing 300 million years of evolutionary history. David Friend Hall is a state-of-the-art gem and mineral gallery. Also on view are Connecticut birds, Egyptian mummies, primates, prehistoric mammals, and exquisite animal habitat dioramas. The Discovery Room has hands-on activities and live critters including a working leafcutter ant farm. The Peabody hosts an MLK celebration in January, Dinosaur Days in April, and Fiesta Latina in October. Ancient Mesopotamia Speaks: Highlights of the Yale Babylonian Collection
opens April 6, 2019, and runs through early 2020. The Museum and its Museum Store are open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Sat.; Noon-5:00 P.M., Sun.; closed most major holidays; closed Monday, except for MLK Jr. Day, Presidents Day, and Columbus Day. Admission: $13.00 adults; $9.00 senior citizens (65 and over); $6.00 children ages 3-18 and college students with ID; $5.00 group admissions with advance reservations; free 2:00 P.M.-5:00 P.M., Thurs., Sept.-Jun. Wheelchair accessible.
NEW HAVEN. Yale University Art Gallery,
1111 Chapel St., P.O. Box 208271, 06520-8271. Website: artgallery.yale.edu
. Open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Fri.; 10:00 A.M.-8:00 P.M., Thurs., Sept.-Jun.; 11:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Sat. and Sun.; closed Mon. and major holidays. Free admission. Information on exhibitions, programs, and directions, Tel., (203) 432-0600; group and school tours available by registration at artgallery.yale.edu/groups
NEW LONDON. Connecticut College Arboretum,
270 Mohegan Ave., Connecticut College, 06320. Website: arboretum.conncoll.edu
. Privately owned and open to the public. The 770 acres, which encompass all college property, include the college campus landscape, an extensive native tree and shrub collection, wildflower gardens, native azalea garden, naturalistic landscape demonstration areas, and two large natural areas for ecological research. Trails throughout the plant collections and natural areas. Open daily dawn-dusk. Free to public. See the website for current public education programs. Call Tel., (860) 439-5060 or E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
for further information.
NEW LONDON. Lyman Allyn Art Museum
, 625 Williams St., 06320. Tel., (860) 443-2545. Dir.,
D. Samuel Quigley. Website: www.lymanallyn.org
. The Lyman Allyn Art Museum welcomes visitors from New London, Southeastern Connecticut, and from all over the world. Established by a gift from Harriet Allyn in memory of her seafaring father, the museum opened the doors of its beautiful neo-classical building in 1932. Today it houses a fascinating collection of over 17,000 objects from ancient times to the present; artworks from Africa, Asia, the Americas, and Europe, with particularly strong collections of American paintings, decorative arts, and Victorian toys and doll houses. Open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Tues.-Sat.; 1:00 P.M.-5:00 P.M., Sun.; closed Mon. and major holidays. Admission: $12.00 adults; $9.00 seniors; $5.00 students; children under 12, museum members, Connecticut College, and New London residents with ID, free. Facilities for the handicapped available.
NEW LONDON. Deshon-Allyn House
, 613 Williams St., 06320. Tel., (860) 443-2545. Website: www.lymanallyn.org
. Mailing Address: c/o Lyman Allyn Art Museum. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Deshon-Allyn House is a granite, federal-style house built in 1829 and shared by the families of two prominent, local whaling captains.
NORWALK. Stepping Stones Museum for Children,
Mathews Park, 303 West Ave., 06850. Tel., (203) 899-0606; FAX, (203) 899-0530. CEO,
Rhonda Kiest. Website: www.steppingstonesmuseum.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Stepping Stones is an award-winning children's museum committed to broadening and enriching the lives of children. Open your world to amazing discoveries, learning and playing through hands-on exhibits, educational programs, and special events that complement efforts in schools, childcare centers, and homes. Renovated to LEED Gold Certification standards, Stepping Stones has five main exhibit areas, including a birth to toddlers-only gallery and a traveling exhibit gallery as well as a state-of-the-art multimedia gallery, open-air tented courtyard, and community gardens - all designed for children 10 and under. The museum also runs an ELLI Lab School for children ages 18 months to 5 to promote early language and literacy. Open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M. daily during the summer and Tues.-Sun. during the school year. Admission: $15.00 children and adults; $10.00 seniors (65+); children under 1, free.
NORWICH. Leffingwell House Historic Museum,
348 Washington St., 06360. Tel., (860) 889-9440. Pres.,
Dayne Rugh. Website: www.leffingwellhousemuseum.org
. The Leffingwell House Historic Museum is owned and operated by the Society of the Founders of Norwich. Our mission is to educate the community on the history of the founders of Norwich by showcasing documents and artifacts from the period 1645-1865 preserved in the Leffingwell House museum vault. The house incorporates 17th- and 18th-century architecture, developing from a 17th-century pre-Revolutionary tavern to a mid-18th-century townhouse. Gen. George Washington visited Col. Christopher Leffingwell at the house during the Revolutionary War, seeking provisions and supplies for the Continental Army. Interpreters evoke the independent spirit and lifestyle of early Americana using displays of utensils, tools, furnishings, silver and china of the period. Open 11:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Sat., Apr.-Oct. and by appointment. Admission: $5.00 adults; $4.00 seniors and children; members, free for regular tours.
NORWICH. Slater Memorial Museum,
located in the Slater Memorial Building and the adjacent Converse Art Gallery on the campus of the Norwich Free Academy, 108 Crescent St., 06360. Tel., (860) 887-2506; FAX, (860) 885-0379. Dir.,
Vivian F. Zoë. Website: www.slatermuseum.org
. Open year round 9:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Tues.-Fri.; 1:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M., Sat. and Sun.; closed Mon. and most major holidays. Admission: $3.00 adults; $2.00 seniors; $1.00 students with ID; Friends of Slater Museum and children under 12, free; guided group tours available.
OLD LYME. Florence Griswold Museum,
96 Lyme St., 06371. Pres.,
David W. Dangremond; Vice Pres.,
John E. Noyes,
Jane Rapport; Secy.,
Deborah Butler; Treas.,
Andy Baxter; Asst. Treas.,
Lee Pritchard; Counsel,
James Carey; Dir.,
Rebekah Beaulieu. Website: www.florencegriswoldmuseum.org
ROCKY HILL. Academy Hall Museum,
785 Old Main St., P.O. Box 185, 06067-0185. Tel., (860) 563-6704. Pres.,
Edward Chiucarello. Website: www.rhhistory.org
. Open year round 10:00 A.M.-Noon, Tues.; or by appointment; 12:30 P.M.-3:00 P.M, Sat.
SCOTLAND. Huntington Homestead Museum,
36 Huntington Rd., Rte. 14, 06264. Governor Samuel Huntington Trust, Inc., Board of Directors Fiscal Year '17-'18. Pres.,
Kevin P. Ring; Vice Pres.,
David Goodrich; Secy.,
Jean Wierzbinski; Treas.,
Elizabeth Wilson; Dirs.,
Janet Lussier, Brian Sear, John H. Spencer, Georgia Stauffer, Karen Stevens. Website: www.huntingtonhomestead.org
. Tour guides lead visitors through the circa 1723 birthplace of Samuel Huntington, signer of the Declaration of Independence. The museum is owned and operated by the Gov. Samuel Huntington Trust. Open 11:00 A.M.-3:00 P.M., the first and third Sat. of each month, May-Oct., or by appointment. Check our website for additional program dates. For more information, contact Kevin Ring. Tel., (860) 423-1547.
STAMFORD. The Stamford Museum and Nature Center,
39 Scofieldtown Rd., 06903. Tel., (203) 322-1646. Website: www.stamfordmuseum.org
. Unique cultural, educational, and recreational resource with a 118-acre woodland site comprising a rich array of resources and facilities: a working farm; nature center; state-of-the-art observatory with research telescope; museum exhibition galleries; facilities for classes and workshops; retail store; playground; planetarium; and 80-acre hardwood forest with five hiking trails, including a universally accessible "Wheels in the Woods" trail. Founded in 1936, the Museum serves a broad audience and provides educational programs for children, special family festivals, adults programs and social activities, interactive exhibitions, and a variety of special events. Open 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Mon.-Sun., Bendel Mansion and galleries open 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Mon.-Sat., and 11:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Sun.; closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day. Admission fees and family festival fees.
STONINGTON. Mystic Seaport Museum, Inc.,
Mystic Seaport, 75 Greenmanville Ave., Mystic 06355. Chm. of Bd.,
J. Barclay Collins, II; Vice Chm.,
Richard W. Clary; Pres.,
Stephen C. White; Secy.,
Michael S. Hudner; Asst. Secy.,
Maureen Hennessey; Treas.,
Sharon E. Cohen; Asst. Treas.,
Marcy Withington. Website: www.mysticseaport.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
STRATFORD. Boothe Memorial Park and Museum, Main St. Putney (Exit 53 off Rte. 15), P.O. Box 902, 06615-0902. Tel., (203) 381-2046. A 32-acre former homestead of the Boothe family, 1663-1949, with picnic facilities, playgrounds, and museum buildings. A National Register of Historic Places site featuring carriage barn, an 1820 homestead, blacksmith shop, trolley station, Merritt Parkway Toll Booth Plaza, windmill, Clocktower museum, Rock and Mineral museum, and ice house. An award-winning wedding rose garden and sunken garden are open year round. Park open 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., daily; museum tours, 11:00 A.M.-1:00 P.M., Tues. and Fri.; 1:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M., Sun.; Jun. 1-Oct. 1, free and handicapped accessible.
STRATFORD. National Helicopter Museum, Inc.
, 2480 Main St., P.O. Box 775, 06615-0775. Tel., (203) 375-8857. Website: www.nationalhelicoptermuseum.org
. Location: Eastbound railroad station in Stratford. Open 1:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M., Wed.-Sun., Memorial Day to the second week of Oct. Special tours can also be arranged, in advance. Free admission and free parking.
VERNON. The New England Civil War Museum,
14 Park Pl., 06066. Tel., (860) 870-3563. Exec. Dir.,
Matthew Reardon. Website: www.newenglandcivilwarmuseum.com
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Located in Rockville's historic Memorial Hall, the New England Civil War Museum has one of the most-identified collections of Civil War artifacts in the region. In addition, the museum contains a Civil War history library. The Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) Hall housing the museum remains in its late 1890s decor and is operated by Alden Skinner Camp #45, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War. Open Noon-3:00 P.M., every Sun., excluding holidays, and by appointment. E-mail for summer hours and openings by appointment. Admission: free; donations accepted. Handicapped accessible.
WASHINGTON. Gunn Historical Museum,
affiliated with the Gunn Memorial Library, 5 Wykeham Rd., 06793. Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1419, 06793-0273. Tel., (860) 868-7756; FAX: (860) 868-7247. Operation Mgr.,
Lisa Breese; Curator
, Stephen Bartkus. Website: www.gunnlibrary.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. The museum was founded in 1899 and is housed in a 1781 residence overlooking the historic Washington Green. Our mission is to collect, preserve, and share objects, documents, and stories that illuminate the lives of people who have lived in the town of Washington. There are changing exhibits and a research library with photographs, documents, and genealogical materials available to the public. Directions: Located at the intersection of Rte. 47 and Wykeham Road. Open 11:00 A.M.-2:00 P.M. Thurs.-Sat. and by appointment. Free admission.
WASHINGTON. Institute for American Indian Studies,
38 Curtis Rd., 06793-1260. Tel., (860) 868-0518; FAX, (860) 868-1649. Dir.,
Christopher Combs. Website: www.iaismuseum.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Museum, education, and research center. Open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Wed.-Sat.; Noon-5:00 P.M., Sun. (last admission at 4:30 P.M.). Admission: $10.00 adults; $8.00 senior citizens; $6.00 children (ages 3-12).
WATERBURY. The Mattatuck Museum,
144 West Main St., 06702-1298. Tel., (203) 753-0381. Pres.,
Mary Rosengrant-Chiappalone; 1st Vice Pres.,
Charles Monagan; 2nd Vice Pres.,
Judith Godburn Secor; Secy.,
Pamela Baker; Treas.,
Bart R. Cutrali. Website: www.mattmuseum.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
WEST HARTFORD. The Children's Museum,
Exit 43 off I-84, 950 Trout Brook Dr., 06119-1437. Tel., (860) 231-2824. E-mail: www.thechildrensmuseumct.org
. Serving over 140,000 children and families annually, The Children's Museum has continued to offer a fun, hands-on and stimulating environment to explore and discover science and nature for children of all ages since 1927. Visitors are greeted by "Conny," a full-size sperm whale replica that spurts water from his blowhole. The museum's state-of-the-art digital, full-dome planetarium, the largest in Connecticut, offers astronomy programs and shows. The wildlife sanctuary is home to a wide variety of rescued animals, domestic and exotic. Members and visitors enjoy interactive science exhibits and demonstrations, live animal presentations, digital science dome movies and planetarium shows, vacation camps, birthday parties, scout activities, and special events. The on-site Children's Museum Preschool is a science-linked early childhood education center, offering 3- through 5-year-olds a unique environment to play and learn with both full-day and half-day enrollment options. The Children's Museum also provides extensive museum-based and outreach educational programs to schools, youth groups, community organizations, and home school families and cooperatives. The museum operates the Roaring Brook Nature Center in nearby Canton, which highlights exploration of the natural sciences. The Children's Museum is open 9:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Tues.-Sat., as well as Mon. during summer and school vacations; 11:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Sun.; closed Easter Sunday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Daily animal demonstrations. Admission (includes regular planetarium show): $14.75 adults; $13.75 children (2-12) and seniors (63+); children under 2, free. Additional charge for premium planetarium shows.
WESTPORT. Earthplace, The Nature Discovery and Environmental Learning Center,
10 Woodside Ln., 06880. Tel., (203) 557-4400. Exec. Dir.,
Tony McDowell. Website: www.earthplace.org
. Earthplace is one of the premier venues for nature discovery and environmental learning in Fairfield County. Its mission is to build a passion in the community for nature and the environment through education, experience and action. Founded in 1958, it includes early childhood education programs, summer camp, teen and adult environmental learning opportunities, an indoor nature discovery area, and a locally renowned water quality research program called Harbor Watch. The nature sanctuary that surrounds Earthplace consists of 62 contiguous acres of open space supporting a variety of habitats and over 2 miles of walking trails, including a universal access trail suitable for wheelchairs and strollers. Earthplace is home to a live Birds of Prey exhibit and Animal Hall which includes over 50 animals species for public viewing. Earthplace is seen as a trusted local resource that promotes environmental understanding through the perspective of science and conservation, and it works towards its mission every day by providing a diverse continuum of hands-on, nature-based learning experiences for all ages and abilities. Open 9:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., Mon.-Sat.; 1:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M., Sun. Grounds open daily dawn to dusk. Admission: $7.00 adults and youths (12-17); $5.00 seniors (62+) and children (1-12); children under 1, free.
WETHERSFIELD. The Webb-Deane-Stevens Museum,
211 Main St., 06109. Tel., (860) 529-0612. Exec. Dir.,
Charles T. Lyle. Website: www.webb-deane-stevens.org
. E-mail: email@example.com
. Located in Connecticut's largest Historic District, the museum offers guided tours of four 18th-century houses that explore history and daily life from the early Colonial era to the Colonial Revival. The Webb and Deane houses are National Historic Landmarks and the Stevens House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The museum is also in charge of tours at the Buttolph-Williams House, a property of Connecticut Landmarks that is also a National Historic Landmark. The recreated Webb House Colonial Revival Garden, designed in 1921, is open to the public free of charge during regular museum hours. The museum offers special family programs, lectures, seasonally changing exhibits, group tours, and museum school programs throughout the year. Open 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Wed.-Mon., except Sun., when hours are 1:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M, May-Oct.; Sat. and Sun., Apr. and Nov.; open daily in Dec. for holiday tours; closed Jan.-Mar. Check our website for more information. Admission: $12.00 adults; $10.00 seniors (60+), AAA members and active military; $6.00 students and children (5-18); $28.00 per family (2 adults and children). Group rate for 15 or more with a reservation, $10.00 per adult.
WILLIMANTIC. Connecticut Eastern Railroad Museum,
55 Bridge St., P.O. Box 665, 06226-0665. Tel., (860) 456-9999. Pres.,
Mark Granville; Vice Pres.,
Duke York; Secy.,
Jean Lambert; Treas.,
Jeff Laverty; NRHS Rep.,
Ray Axelrod. Website: www.cteastrrmuseum.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Preservation of railroad history with emphasis on eastern Connecticut. Located on site of former New Haven Railroad's "Columbia Junction." Restored roundhouse and turntable; buildings from Chaplin, Groton, Niantic, and Willimantic; locomotives, both steam and diesel; and rolling stock. Open 10:00 A.M.-4:00 P.M., Sat. and 12:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M., Sun., May-Oct. Admission: $7.00 adults; $3.00 children (8-12); members and children under 8, free.
WINDSOR LOCKS. New England Air Museum
(owned and operated by the Connecticut Aeronautical Historical Assoc., Inc.), Bradley International Airport, 06096. Tel., (860) 623-3305; FAX, (860) 627-2820. Website: www.neam.org
. Largest aviation museum in the northeastern United States. Three large exhibit hangars with more than 90 aircraft from all eras of aviation, many of which are one of a kind. Numerous exhibits on a variety of subjects including the history of Pratt & Whitney, the Tuskegee Airmen, and the Lafayette Escadrille of WWI. Numerous special events are held during the year and space is available for corporate and social functions. The museum's education department offers a variety of programs for school and non-school groups. Gift shop, free parking, facilities for handicap, free brochure on request. Open 10:00 A.M.-5:00 P.M., daily; from Memorial Day through Labor Day; closed Monday during the winter; closed Easter, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day. Admission: $15.00 adults; $14.00 senior citizens; $10.00 youth (4-14); children ages 3 and under, free. Guided group tours and group rates available.
WINDSOR LOCKS. Noden-Reed House and Barn Museums,
58 West St., 06096. Tel., (860) 627-9212. E-mail: email@example.com
. Operated by the Windsor Locks Historical Society, Inc., since 1976. Victorian farmhouse with period room displays and an 1826 brick barn containing a farmer's tool collection, located in a 22-acre town park. Listed on National Register of Historical Places; considered site of Connecticut's first Christmas tree (1777) originally displayed by a Hessian soldier. Gov. Ella Grasso memorabilia added to the museum. The Windsor Locks Journal is available for research dating back to the 1800s. Open last Sun. of the month from 1:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M., and for special events or by appointment. Excluding holiday weekends. See www.windsorlockshistorical.org
for calendar and information.
WOODBURY. The Glebe House Museum and Gertrude Jekyll Garden,
49 Hollow Rd., 06798-3317; Mailing Address: P.O. Box 245, 06798-0245. Tel., (203) 263-2855. Dir.,
LoriAnn Witte. Website: www.glebehousemuseum.org
. E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
. Set in the picturesque Litchfield Hills in historic Woodbury's village center, the Glebe House Museum offers the visitor a glimpse of Revolutionary War-era Connecticut. The simple but elegant 18th-century farmhouse is furnished as the home of the Reverend John Marshall, his wife, Sarah, and their nine children who lived in the "glebe" during the turmoil of the American War for Independence. The garden was designed in 1926 by Gertrude Jekyll, England's best-known garden designer. Today, the Glebe House Museum and Jekyll Garden is a nonprofit educational institution that seeks to make itself available to everyone as a unique historical and cultural landmark by preserving its heritage and providing programs and opportunities for education, research, and reflection. Open 1:00 P.M.-4:00 P.M., Wed.-Sun., May-mid/Oct.; Nov.-Apr. by appointment; group reservations by appointment. Admission: $7.00 adults; $2.00 children (ages 6-12); $2.00 (garden only).
PUBLIC LIBRARIES OF CONNECTICUT
ASSOCIATION OF CONNECTICUT LIBRARY BOARDS. Connecticut State Library, 231 Capitol Ave., Hartford 06106. Tel., (860) 757-6665. Website: www.aclb.org. E-mail: email@example.com. Pres., Gail B. Richmond, Hebron; Vice Pres., Cynthia Sanders, Middletown; Secy., Wendy Berlind, Middletown; Treas., Carole Stroud, South Windsor.