Press Releases

Denise W. Merrill Secretary of the State Connecticut - Seal


Primary Results to be Audited at Selected Polling Locations

A hand count of ballots from five percent of all polling places that use optical scanners to be matched against machine totals, which will affirm the integrity of the vote

HARTFORD: Deputy Secretary of the State Scott Bates randomly selected voting precincts to have primary results audited following the August 14 primary. Five percent of the polling places that use optical scan machines are subject to the audit, as prescribed by Connecticut General Statutes 9-320f. Those hand counted ballots will be matched against vote totals from optical scan machines.

Deputy Secretary Bates said, “Connecticut’s post-primary and post-election audits are essential to ensuring the integrity of the vote. We are grateful to the local election officials who will continue to carry out this process in a transparent, professional manner.”

There were 717 polling locations that used optical scan machines on August 14 so the Deputy Secretary of the State chose thirty six primary and ten alternate locations. The results of audits will be analyzed by the University of Connecticut, the Secretary of the State’s Office and the State Elections Enforcement Commission, and then be made available to the public. Connecticut boasts one of the strictest audit statutes in the country and was the first state in New England to require a comprehensive audit of primary results.

List of races to be audited:
o Governor
o Treasurer
o Attorney General
o Lt. Governor
o Comptroller
o Attorney General

List of polling places to be audited:
Danbury- War Memorial (Democrat)
Enfield- Henry Barnard School (Republican)
Hamden- Dunbar Hill School (Democrat)
Bridgeport- Aquaculture Center (Republican)
Manchester- Buckley School (Republican)
West Haven- West Haven City Hall (Democrat)
Killingworth- Killingworth Elementary School (Republican)
Newington- John Wallace Middle School (Democrat)
Stonington- Board of Education Administration Building (Republican)
Southington- Flanders School (Democrat)
Bridgeport- Thomas Hooker School (Democrat)
East Hartford- Saint Christopher Church Hall (Republican) 
Bridgeport- City Hall (Republican)
Seymour- District 2 Seymour Middle School (Democrat)
Middletown- Woodrow Wilson Middle School- District 11 (Democrat)
Colchester- Bacon Academy (Republican)
Bristol- Bristol Elks Club (Democrat)
Waterbury- Woodrow Wilson School (Democrat) 
Windham- Windham Center Fire Department (Republican) 
Stratford- Stratford Town Hall 2nd (Democrat)
North Haven- Ridge Road Elementary School (Republican)
New Haven- Conte-West Hills School 02 (Democrat)
Manchester- Robertson School (Democrat)
Bethlehem- Bethlehem Town Office Building (Democrat)
New Haven- Barnard School (Republican)
Norwalk- Wolfpit School (Democrat)
Hamden- Hamden Middle School (Republican)
Middletown- Wesley School- District 9 (Democrat)
West Haven- Surfside Senior Center (Republican)
Stamford- Roxbury School (Republican)
Bridgeport- Harding High School (Democrat)
Goshen- Camp Cochiplanee (Republican) 
Hartford- Burns School Gym (Republican)
East Hampton- East Hampton Middle School (Republican)
Naugatuck- Oak Terrace (Democrat)
New Milford- Sarah Noble Intermediate School (Democrat)

New Haven- New Horizons School 03 (Democrat)
Union- Town Hall (Republican)
Stratford- Stratford Town Hall 23 (Democrat)
Bridgeport- Wilbur Cross School (Democrat)
Bloomfield- Metacomet Elementary School (Republican)
Seymour- District 3 Chatfield-Lopresti School (Republican)
Watertown- Watertown High School (Democrat)
New Milford- Gaylordsville Fire House (Democrat)
Danbury- Park Avenue School (Democrat) 
Wolcott- Wakelee (Republican)

For more information:
Kevin Bronson: (860) 970-1809 cell
Twitter: Secretary of State on Twitter
Facebook: Secretary of State on Facebook