Coronavirus Guidance for School Districts: Per Governor’s executive order, in-school class cancellations remain in effect through the remainder of the 2019-2020 school year.

Emergency Meal Programs: The State Department of Education is authorizing two distinct categories of COVID-19 Emergency Meal Programs in accordance with federal requirements: 1) COVID-19 Emergency Meal Program Limited to Students Attending School in Specific Districts. School districts on this list are only authorized to serve meals to students attending their schools, and any other child age 18 years or younger residing in the same household; 2) COVID-19 Community-wide Emergency Meal Program for Children. Any child age 18 years or younger can receive meal(s) at any meal service and distribution sites in these towns/cities. They do not have to be a resident or attend school in these towns/cities. Check these links often as more locations continue to be added.

 Hartford regional school choice logo.

The on-time application period is now closed. The late application period is open from February 18 and will close on July 31, 2020. For additional information please see Late Application Schools and Open Choice Program List.

 Apply to the RSCO Late Application

Apply is the second step to school choice.   


Prior to starting a RSCO school choice application, a valid email address is required to create a RSCO application account. RSCO will use your valid email address to send school choice placement and waitlist notifications. Email accounts can include Gmail, Comcast, Yahoo mail or AT&T.

Email logo and symbol for gmail.Email logo and symbol for comcast.Email logo and symbol for yahoo mail.Email logo and symbol for AT&T.
Key Dates
  • On-time applications accepted to February 9, 2020.
  • CTECS early application deadline: December 20, 2019.
  • RSCO late application period: February 18 - July 31, 2020.
What is the difference between the RSCO school choice application and the Hartford district school choice process?
The RSCO school choice application and the Hartford District Choice applications are two separate school choice options, each have separate applications and separate notification and placement offer deadlines. Hartford and suburban families may apply through the RSCO school choice process which includes the three CT technical high schools in the region, magnet schools and the Open Choice Program.   


Hartford District School Choice is only for Hartford residents applying to Hartford non-magnet Public Schools.

For more information call 860-695-8876 or visit


What is the difference between the Connecticut Technical Education and Career System’s (CTECS) application and the RSCO school choice application process?
The application process has changed for three technical high schools in the Hartford region; A.I. Prince, E.C. Goodwin, and Howell Cheney, will be part of the Regional School Choice Office (RSCO) online application process.  If you are interested in applying for E.C. Goodwin Technical High School, A.I. Prince Technical High School and Howell Cheney Technical High School for fall enrollment, apply using the RSCO application.  


For more information visit the CTECS Admissions page.