Homeschooling as an Option to Public School Education
Parents who wish to homeschool their child/ren should contact their local public school's district office for information on local requirements.
It is suggested that homeschooling parents:
- complete the Intent to Homeschool form for each child annually and submit it to the Superintendent’s office for signature. A signed copy should be retained in each child’s homeschool folder;
- review the Connecticut Core Standards at: http://ctcorestandards.org/. The Connecticut Core Standards provide parents with clear expectations of what a student should know and be able to do at each grade level. Aligning instruction with these standards and competencies will ensure a smoother transition should the child return to public school;
- keep a log of attendance which reflects days and hours of instruction;
- maintain a portfolio for each child which contains samples of activities, assignments, projects and assessments, as well as a log of books and materials used. Include results of any national assessments; and
- contact potential colleges and universities in order to learn what is required for admission.
Homeschooling and Connecticut State High School Diplomas
Homeschooled students may take the GED® test by registering at a local Adult Education Program. Upon passing the four modules of the GED®, a Connecticut State High School Diploma is awarded.
Connecticut General Statutes, Section 10-5(a) requires that individuals who are either 17 or 18 years of age at the time of GED® registration must submit documentation that they have been officially withdrawn from a Connecticut school for at least six months; 17 year-olds must submit an official withdrawal form with a parent or guardian signature. Individuals who are 18 years of age may submit, in lieu of a withdrawal form, a letter from the last high school attended stating that the class they entered ninth grade (or would have entered if never enrolled) has already graduated.
Individuals between the ages of 17 and 18 years of age who are homeschooled and wish to take the GED® test must have a parent/guardian obtain documentation from the local school district acknowledging their original intent to home school. Once the parent/guardian obtains the evidence, they should contact the State Department of Education GED® office at 860- 807-2111 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org and request a homeschooling attestation form signed by the GED® Administrator. If district documentation cannot be obtained, the student will be subject to the six month waiting period as required by C.G.S. 10-5(a).
Information for Parents
Sample Intent to Homeschool form