Commissioner's Network


The Commissioner’s Network is a commitment between local stakeholders and the Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) to dramatically improve student achievement in up to 25 schools.  To that end, the Network offers new resources and authorities to empower teachers and school leaders to implement research-based strategies in schools selected by the Commissioner of Education to participate in the Network for a period of three to five years.  Network schools remain part of their local school districts, but the districts and the CSDE secure school-level flexibility and autonomy for the schools in exchange for heightened accountability. 

Commissioner's Network Schools 
Cohort I: joined the Network in Fall 2012
High School in Community, New Haven *
James J. Curiale School, Bridgeport * 
John B. Stanton School, Norwich * 
Thirman Milner School, Hartford *
Cohort II: joined the Network in Fall 2013
Briggs High School, Norwalk *
DiLoreto Magnet School, New Britain *
Paul Laurence Dunbar School, Bridgeport *
Crosby High School, Waterbury *
Walsh School, Waterbury *
Wilbur Cross High School, New Haven *
Windham Middle School, Windham *
Cohort III: joined the Network in Fall 2014
John C. Clark School, Hartford *
Lincoln-Bassett Community School, New Haven*
Luis Munoz Marin School, Bridgeport*
O'Brien STEM Academy, East Hartford*
Uncas Network School, Norwich*
Cohort IV: joined the Network in Fall 2015
East Hartford Middle School, East Hartford
Cohort V: joined the Network in Fall 2016
Batcheller Early Education Center, Winchester
Pearson Elementary School, Winchester
Clinton Avenue School, New Haven
Columbus School, Bridgeport*
Cohort VI: joined the Network in Fall 2017
New Britain High School, New Britain


Cohort VII: joined the Network in Fall 2018

Wexler-Grant Community School, New Haven

Windham High School, Windham


Cohort VIII: joined Network in Fall 2019

Roosevelt School, Bridgeport


Cohort IX: joined the Network in Fall 2020

Derby Middle School, Derby
Hartford Public High School, Hartford
Pulaski Middle School, New Britain
Slade Middle School, New Britain
Smalley Elementary, New Britain
Michael Wallace Middle School, Waterbury
North End Middle School, Waterbury
West Side Middle School, Waterbury


     * Exited from Commissioner's Network