NOTICE: WATCH VIDEO >> Governor Lamont's April 7 news briefing with updates on COVID-19.

Governor's Council on Women and Girls

Upon taking office in January 2019, one of Governor Lamont's first actions was to form the Governor's Council on Women and Girls – a group tasked with providing a coordinated state response to issues that impact the lives of women, girls, their families, and the State of Connecticut.

“It’s true that women’s right are human rights. Honoring that reality here in Connecticut is not only the right thing to do, it’s the smart thing to do. That’s why I am proud to launch the first-ever Council on Women and Girls in our state to deliver on our administration’s commitment to gender equality and opportunity. With this council, we can ensure that women and girls have every opportunity to determine their future and make a good living for themselves and their families.” — Governor Lamont

Chaired by Lt. Governor Sysan Bysiewicz, the council is housed within the Office of the Governor, emphasizing the centrality of its work to the overall goals of the administration. Office of Policy and Management Secretary Melissa McCaw serves as the council's vice chair.



Chair: Lt. Governor Susan Bysiewicz
Vice Chair: Office of Policy and Management Secretary Melissa McCaw
Constitutional Officers
Shannon Wegele (Secretary Merrill designee)
Michelle Gilman (Comptroller Lembo designee)
Treasurer Shawn Wooden 
Clare Kindall (Attorney General Tong designee)
Legislative Leadership
Senator Marilyn Moore (Senate President Pro Tempore Looney designee)
Senator Heather Somers (Senate Minority Leader Fasano designee)
Representative Dorinda Borer (Speaker of the House Aresimowicz designee)
Representative Stephanie Cummings (House Minority Leader Klarides designee)
Agency Commissioners
Department of Administrative Services Commissioner Josh Geballe
Department of Aging and Disability Services Commissioner Amy Porter
Department of Agriculture Commissioner Bryan Hurlburt
Department of Banking Commissioner Jorge Perez
Department of Children and Families Commissioner Vanessa Dorantes
Department of Consumer Protection Commissioner Michelle Seagull
Department of Correction Commissioner Rollin Cook
Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner David Lehman
Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection Commissioner James Rovella
Department of Developmental Services Commissioner Jordan Scheff
Department of Education Commissioner Miguel Cardona
Department of Energy & Environmental Protection Commissioner Katie Dykes
Department of Housing Commissioner Seila Mosquera-Bruno
Department of Labor Commissioner Kurt Westby
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services Commissioner Miriam Delphin-Rittmon
Department of Motor Vehicles Commissioner Sibongile Magubane
Department of Public Health Commissioner Renée D. Coleman-Mitchell
Department of Revenue Services Commissioner Scott D. Jackson
Department of Social Services Commissioner Deidre Gifford
Department of Transportation Commissioner Joe Giulietti
Department of Veterans Affairs Commissioner Thomas Saadi
Insurance Department Commissioner Andrew N. Mais
Office of Early Childhood Commissioner Beth Bye
Office of Health Strategy Executive Director Victoria Veltri
Office of Higher Education Executive Director Tim Larson
Office of Military Affairs Executive Director Robert Ross



March 8, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. in LOB Room 1E  Agenda Minutes
May 6, 2019 at 10:00 a.m. in LOB Room 1E  Agenda Minutes
July 10, 2019 at 1:00 p.m. in LOB Room 1E  Agenda Minutes
Attachment 1
Attachment 2
September 10, 2019 at 11:00 a.m. in LOB Room 1E  Agenda Minutes
Attachment 1
Attachment 2
Attachment 3
November 13, 2019 at 11:00 a.m. in LOB Room 1E Agenda Minutes
Attachment 1
January 14, 2020 at 11:00 a.m. in LOB 1E Agenda  Minutes
Attachment 1
Attachment 2
March 3, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. in State Capitol Room 310  Agenda
May 12, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. in LOB 1E Agenda
July 7, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. in LOB 1E Agenda
September 15, 2020 at 2:00 p.m. in LOB 1E Agenda
November 10, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. in LOB 1E Agenda



Economic Opportunity & Workforce Equity Subcommittee
Education & STEAM Subcommittee
Health & Safety Subcommittee
Leadership Subcommittee