Regional Councils of Governments (RCOGs) in Connecticut

Description | Meetings | Members


Connecticut’s planning regions provide a geographic framework within which municipalities can jointly address common interests, and coordinate such interests with state plans and programs.  State statutes authorize the secretary of the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) to designate or redesignate the boundaries of logical planning regions, whereas the member municipalities of each planning region are authorized under separate state statutes to establish a formal governance structure known as a regional council of governments (RCOG).

The Office of Policy and Management (OPM) recently completed a comprehensive analysis of the boundaries of logical planning regions in Connecticut under Section 16a-4c of the Connecticut General Statutes (2014 Supplement).  This analysis resulted in the number of planning regions being reduced from the original fifteen (15) to nine (9), as a result of four (4) voluntary consolidations and the elimination of two (2) planning regions.  As required by statute, OPM notified the chief executive officer (CEO) in each municipality that was proposed for redesignation and offered them a thirty (30) day period to appeal the proposed redesignation.  Of the seventeen municipalities that were proposed for redesignation by OPM, only three opted to exercise their right to appeal.  OPM staff attended meetings in Bristol, Burlington and Plymouth, and subsequently granted each of the appeals.

A final map (PNG/PDF) showing the nine (9) planning regions is available, along with a list of municipalities (MS Excel) and their population by planning region based on the 2010 census.

Regional Councils of Governments in Connecticut

RCOG Contact Information

Capitol Region Council of Governments
241 Main Street, 4th Floor
Hartford, Connecticut 06106-5310
Telephone: (860) 522-2217, ext. 232
Fax: (860) 724-1274
Executive Director: Lyle Wray

Connecticut Metropolitan Council of Governments
1000 Lafayette Boulevard, Suite 925
Bridgeport, Connecticut 06604-4902
Telephone: (203) 366-5405
Fax: (203) 366-8437
Executive Director: Matt Fulda

Lower Connecticut River Valley Council of Governments
145 Dennison Road
Essex, Connecticut 06426
Telephone: (860) 581-8554
Fax: (860) 581-8543

Executive Director: Sam Gold

Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments
49 Leavenworth Street, Suite 303
Waterbury, Connecticut 06702


Telephone: (203) 757-0535
Fax: (203) 756-7688



Executive Director: Rick Dunne

Northeastern Connecticut Council of Governments
125 Putnam Pike (Route 12)
P.O. Box 759
Dayville, Connecticut 06241-0759
Telephone: (860) 774-1253
Fax: (860) 779-2056

Executive Director: John Filchak

Northwest Hills Council of Governments
Suite A-1, 59 Torrington Road
Goshen, Connecticut 06756
Telephone: (860) 491-9884
Fax: (860) 491-3729


Executive Director: Richard Lynn

South Central Regional Council of Governments
127 Washington Avenue, 4th Floor West
North Haven, Connecticut 06473 - 1715
Telephone: (203) 234-7555
Fax: (203) 234-9850
Executive Director: Carl Amento

Southeastern Connecticut Council of Governments
5 Connecticut Avenue
Norwich, Connecticut 06360-4592
Telephone: (860) 889-2324
Fax: (860) 889-1222
Executive Director: James S. Butler

Western Connecticut Council of Governments
One Riverside Road
Sandy Hook, CT 06482
Telephone and Fax: (475) 323-2060

Executive Director: Francis Pickering

For Further Information, Please Contact:
Daniel Morley, phone (860) 418-6343; fax (860) 418-6486; e-mail

Link to: