June 24, 2022: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has listed Fairfield, Hartford, New London, Middlesex, Tolland, and Windham Counties in Low/Green the as part of its COVID-19 Community Levels Map. Only Litchfield, Middlesex and New Haven County are listed in the Medium/Yellow category. Residents who live in the Medium /Yellow counties who are at a high risk for severe illness, should talk to their health care provider about whether to wear a mask and take other precautions. These residents should stay up to date with their COVID-19 vaccines and get tested if they have symptoms. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.

Press Releases

02/16/2022

Department Of Public Health Extends Suspension Requirements For Licensed Health Care Professionals From Other States

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Feb. 16, 2022

CONTACT:     Chris Boyle, Director of Communications

                        (860) 706-9654 – christopher.boyle@ct.gov

 

Department Of Public Health Extends Suspension Requirements

For Licensed Health Care Professionals From Other States

 

HARTFORD, Conn.—As part of its ongoing commitment to hospitals and health care facilities across the state, the Connecticut Department of Public Health has extended the temporary waiver of the state’s license requirements for certain out-of-state health care professionals looking to practice in Connecticut.

 

The order has been issued by DPH Commissioner Manisha Juthani, MD and suspends for a period of 60 days, the requirement of licensure, certification or registration for health care professionals who are appropriately licensed, certified, or registered in another state or territory of the United States and the District of Columbia. The 60-day period will not extend past April 15. The temporary suspension of licensure, certification, or registration to practice in Connecticut applies to:

  • Physicians
  • Physician assistants
  • APRNs
  • Registered nurses
  • Licensed practice nurses
  • Respiratory Care Practitioners
  • Psychologists
  • Marital and family therapists
  • Clinical and master social workers
  • Professional counselors

“We continue to trend in a positive direction in terms of hospitalizations, but we continue to need to utilize all resources to optimize staffing in healthcare settings,” Commissioner Juthani said. “With health care staffing shortages still being a nationwide issue, this order will offer some immediate relief to Connecticut’s health care infrastructure by authorizing licensed health care providers from other states to immediately work in Connecticut. The professions authorized include those who provide critical mental health services which are in high demand.”

 

Commissioner Juthani added that this is the third time during the COVID-19 pandemic that DPH has temporarily suspended the licensing requirements for out of state health care professionals—similar orders were issued on March 23, 2020 and Dec. 22, 2021.

Any out-of-state professional must comply with all provisions of the order to practice in Connecticut including that they are in good standing in their home state and have appropriate malpractice insurance. The order permits both in-person practice and telehealth services provided that the practitioner complies with the requirements of the recently enacted Public Act 21-9  that regulates telehealth providers. 

 

Commissioner Juthani stressed that any out of state licensed provider who practices in Connecticut during this temporary order should apply for a Connecticut license to help ensure that the care they are providing does not abruptly stop once the temporary order expires and the practitioner’s authority to practice in Connecticut ends. Practitioners may visit  www.ct.gov/dph and click on “practitioner licensing” to begin the online application process.

 

Additionally, Commissioner Juthani extended an order that authorizes health professionals who are trained to administer anesthesia to administer the COVID-19 vaccine. These professionals include podiatrists, dentists, and dental hygienists. Veterinarians, advanced emergency medical technicians, paramedics, and emergency medical technicians with training in intramuscular epinephrine administration also may administer the COVID-19 vaccine. These current orders expire on April 15.

-30-