May 20, 2022: the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention listed six Connecticut Counties in the High/Orange category as part of its COVID-19 Community Levels Map. Only Fairfield and Tolland Counties are listed in the Medium/Yellow category. Residents in these counties should wear a mask indoors in public; stay up to date with COVID-19 vaccines and get tested if they have symptoms. Additional precautions may be needed for residents who are at high risk for severe illness. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                    Connecticut Department of Public Health

April 14, 2008                                                 Contact: William Gerrish

                                                                         (860) 509-7270 

WHAT:    The Connecticut Stem Cell Research Advisory Committee will meet.

WHEN:    Tuesday, April 15, 2008, 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM

WHERE: Connecticut Economic Resource Center, 805 Brook St., Bldg. 4, Rocky Hill, Connecticut

WHY: The Stem Cell Research Advisory Committee was created and appointed to direct the awarding of grants-in-aid for stem cell research in accordance with Connecticut statute.

WHO: J. Robert Galvin, M. D., M. P. H., M. B. A., Commissioner, Connecticut Department of Public Health (Chairman)

Ernesto Canalis, M. D., Director, Department of Research, St. Francis Hospital & Medical Center, Hartford, CT

Gerald Fishbone, M. D., Radiologist, The Hospital of St. Raphael, New Haven, CT, and Associate Professor of Radiology, Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, CT

Myron Genel, M. D., Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics, Yale Child Health Research Center, Department of Pediatrics, Yale School of Medicine, New Haven, CT

Paul L. Huang, M. D., Ph. D., Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School and Director, Cardiac Metabolic Syndrome Program, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA

Charles G. Jennings, Ph.D., McGovern Institute for Brain Research, Cambridge, MA

Ann A. Kiessling, Ph.D., Director, Bedford Stem Cell Research Foundation, Bedford, MA

Julius Landwirth, M. D., J. D., Associate Director, Yale Interdisciplinary Center for Bioethics and Donaghue Initiative in Biomedical and Behavioral Ethics, Yale University, New Haven, CT

Stephen Latham, Ph. D., J. D., Professor, Quinnipiac University School of Law, Hamden, CT

Treena Livingston Arinzeh, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, NJ

Robert Mandelkern, State Coordinator, Parkinson’s Action Network, West Hartford, CT

Paul R. Pescatello, J. D., President & Chief Executive Officer, Connecticut United for Research Excellence (CURE), New Haven, CT

Amy Wagers, Ph. D., Associate Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School and Principal Investigator for Developmental and Stem Cell Research, Joslin Center, Boston, MA

Milton B. Wallack, D. D. S., New Haven Dental Group, LLC, Hamden, CT

This meeting is open to the public.