June 24, 2022: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has listed Fairfield, Hartford, New London, Middlesex, Tolland, and Windham Counties in Low/Green the as part of its COVID-19 Community Levels Map. Only Litchfield, Middlesex and New Haven County are listed in the Medium/Yellow category. Residents who live in the Medium /Yellow counties who are at a high risk for severe illness, should talk to their health care provider about whether to wear a mask and take other precautions. These residents should stay up to date with their COVID-19 vaccines and get tested if they have symptoms. Visit the CDC COVID-19 Community Levels Map for updates.

Program Purpose & Goals:


The Department of Public Health will not be reviewing new applications at this time.
Connecticut applicants are advised to seek opportunities with the federal loan repayment under the National Health Service Corps.

The Connecticut SLRP (CSLRP) is a federal-state partnership that assists states in addressing the health professional shortages that cause disparities in access to health care.  Program participants work for Community Health Centers and other eligible primary care sites in the state. 

Community Health Centers provide comprehensive primary care services in areas designated by the federal government as Medically Underserved Areas (MUA) and as Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSA). 

Repayment of educational loans in exchange for a period of employment is a significant incentive for eligible clinicians to work in Community Health Centers.   

      Application Forms

      Cancellation & Waiver

      Default & Penalties

      Eligible Clinicians

      Loan & Repayments

      Participant Requirements

      Primary Care Sites

      Role of DPH

      Role of Employers

      Work of Requirement

     Back to DPH Home Page