2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Environmental Health and Drinking Water Information

For up to date information on the Coronavirus efforts being conducted in Connecticut and all other general information, please visit Governor Lamont's website.


General Environmental Health
Public Drinking Water
 Subsurface Sewage
Restaurants, Bars and Food Safety
Private Well Water
EHDWB Reopen Connecticut Guidance


*** Frequently Asked Questions
*** Reopen Connecticut: Environmental Health & Drinking Water Guidance
*** COVID-19 Training Materials for Local Health Departments


Circular Letters

Drinking Water:

Restaurants, Bars and Food Safety:

Beaches, Campgrounds and Public Pools:


 Environmental Laboratories:

General Environmental Health Information


Public Drinking Water
  • EPA recommends that Americans continue to use and drink tap water as usual. The World Health Organization (WHO) has stated that the, “presence of the COVID-19 virus has not been detected in drinking-water supplies and based on current evidence the risk to water supplies is low.”
  • Using bottled water or boiling your tap drinking water is not required as a precaution against COVID-19.

Restaurants, Bars and Food Safety

Guidance for food establishments and local health departments, including food safety practices and executive orders from the Governor can be found in the circular letters above. 

Guidance Documents:

Subsurface Sewage

Information on COVID-19 for Wastewater and Sewage Professionals:

  • Guidance from the U.S. Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) states there is no evidence to suggest that additional COVID-19 specific protections are needed for employees in wastewater management operations, and OSHA encourages workers follow routine practices to prevent exposure to wastewater.
    Source: www.osha.gov/SLTC/covid-19/controlprevention.html
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) advises that the risk of transmission of COVID-19 from the feces of an infected person is expected to be low based on data from previous outbreaks…workers should use standard practices of basic hygiene precautions (e.g. handwashing) and wear personal protective equipment as prescribed for specific work tasks.
    Source: www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/php/water.html


Private Wells