The Family Health Section (FHS) administers and oversees services primarily intended to impact the health and well-being of all members of the family. The FHS is responsible for the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant (MCHBG).  As one of the largest federal block grant programs, the MCHBG is the key source of support for promoting and improving the health of all the nation’s mothers and children, including children with Special Health Care Needs.  

FHS is comprised of four units, each of which is responsible to manage specific initiatives listed as follows:


  • Community Health and Support

o   Birth Defects Registry

o   Community Health Centers

o   Early Hearing Detection and Intervention

o   Intimate Partner Violence

o   Sexual Violence Prevention

o   Sickle Cell Disease

o   State Systems Development Initiative

o   Primary Care Office

  • Office of Oral Health

o   Home by One

o   Oral Disease Prevention Program

  • Maternal, Infant and Child Health

o   Action Learning Collaborative

o   Case Management for Pregnant Women

o   Family Planning

o   Fetal and Infant Mortality Review

o   Healthy Choices for Women and Children

o   Federal Hartford Healthy Start

o   State Healthy Start

o   Maternal, Infant and Early Childhood Home Visiting

o   Personal Responsibility Education Program

o   Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System

o   Pregnancy Risk Assessment Tracking System

  • Child and Adolescent Health

o   Autism Spectrum Disorder

o   Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs

o   Early Childhood Partners

o   Respite Care for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs

o   Family Advocacy

o   School Based Health Centers