State of CT Amorial Bearings

Governor’s Commission on the Reform of the

Connecticut Department of Transportation
Governor Rell Photo Michael Critelli Photo DOT Commissioner Photo
Governor Rell
Michael Critelli
Ralph J. Carpenter

               On April 30, 2007, Governor M. Jodi Rell announced that she was appointing a special working group to consider reforms to the structure and operation of the Connecticut Department of Transportation (DOT). The Commission is chaired by Michael Critelli, Chairman and former CEO of Pitney-Bowes Corporation in Stamford.

            The Commission held its first formal meeting on July 17 at DOT Headquarters in Newington.

“When I announced the creation of this panel, I said that I wanted a new DOT that was more responsive and responsible to the people of our state,” Governor Rell said. “With the full commission now in place, we are ready to begin serious discussions and evaluations of DOT leadership, structure, staffing and business systems. The DOT is entrusted with billions of dollars of taxpayer funds every year and Connecticut citizens are entitled to know that their money is being invested wisely.”

Link to Governor’s April 30, 2007, press release:

            On July 10, Governor Rell announced the full membership of the Commission.

Link to Governor’s July 10, 2007, press release:

            You are encouraged to submit ideas and comments for consideration by the Commission, which has been charged with making recommendations to the Governor by December 1, 2007 – in time for Governor Rell to draft and recommend legislation for consideration by the 2008 General Assembly.

            To submit an idea or comment, E-MAILwith "Governor's Commission" in subject line.

           Final Report (pdf 1 mb)

Meeting dates and agendas

Commission Membership

Chairman: Michael Critelli, Chairman and former Chief Executive Officer of Pitney-Bowes Corporation in Stamford.

Other members:

  • Ralph J. Carpenter of Canton, DOT Commissioner
  • Attorney David Egan of Guilford, serving as a member of the public
  • Robert Genuario of Norwalk, Secretary of the Office of Policy and Management   (OPM – the Governor’s budget office)
  • Anne Gnazzo of West Hartford, Commissioner of the Department of  Administrative Services
  • Kevin Kelleher of Brookfield, Chairman of the Transportation Strategy Board
  • Anthony V. Milano of Bridgeport, former Secretary of OPM
  • Gina McCarthy of Hartford, Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Protection
  • Meredith Reuben of Stamford, Chairwoman of the Connecticut Business and Industry Association and CEO of Eastern Bag and Paper Group in Milford
  • Larry McHugh of Middletown, President of the Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce
  • James Paggioli of Bolton, a licensed land surveyor
  • William B. Sawch of Weston, Senior Vice President and General Counsel at Applera Corporation, Norwalk