DEEP is continuing to carry out its mission and provide services while keeping both the public and our workforce safe during the COVID-19 pandemic. Click here for the latest updates on DEEP's response to COVID-19. DEEP COVID-19 Response

Connecticut Geographic Names Authority

 

Wadsworth?

The Connecticut Geographic Names Authority reviews geographic name applications received by the US Board on Geographic Names (USBGN), of the U.S. Geological Survey.

 

The mission of the committee is to conduct names research and canvas local stakeholders for input on pending geographic names applications. We then meet to review all the available information, and make a recommendation to the USBGN. Recommendations are to be consistent with USBGN naming policies.

 

Our recommendations are either to endorse, oppose, or defer until additional information that would impact the decision can be acquired.  The USBGN makes the final determination for geographic names applications.

 

Geographic names convey much more than a place identifier. They communicate the history of people, places, and culture, and are critical aspects of both our identity and our legacy. They also serve a very practical purpose in society relative to mapping, communications, land use, and emergency management.    

The Connecticut Geographic Names Authority is chaired by the Connecticut State Geologist.  Membership includes State agency representatives, research specialists, and mappers.  Applications are reviewed and discussed by all members of the committee.  Annual meetings are held in the fall, and at other times as required.  The entire review process is very thorough, and typically takes several months.

 

Search for an existing geographic name

 

Connecticut Geographic Names Authority
Committee Membership 2019-2020


Margaret A. Thomas, Connecticut State Geologist, Chair
Margaret.thomas@ct.gov

Nick Bellantoni, Connecticut State Archaeologist
nick.bellantoni@uconn.edu

Tasha Caswell, Digitization Lab Manager, Connecticut Historical Society
tasha_caswell@chs.org

Kenneth Dumais, Hazard Mitigation Officer, DESPP
Kenneth.dumais@ct.gov

Brian Florek, Chief Surveyor, DEEP
brian.florek@ct.gov

Beth Stewart Kelly, Geospatial Information Systems Manager, Connecticut Military
beth.a.stewartkelly.nfg@mail.mil

Eric Lindquist, Planning & Intergovernmental Policy, OPM
eric.k.lindquist@ct.gov

Edith Pestana, Environmental Justice Program, DEEP
edith.pestana@ct.gov

Stephen Rice, Reference Librarian, Connecticut State Library
steve.rice@ct.gov

 

Content last updated April 8, 2020