Reporting Requirements for Spill Incidents
Report of Pollution Incident by Petroleum or Chemical Products as required by Chapter 446k, Section 22a-450, of the Connecticut General Statutes.
- The master of any ship, boat, barge or other vessel, or
- the person in charge of any terminal for the loading of any oil or petroleum or chemical liquids or solid, liquid or gaseous products or hazardous wastes, or
- the person in charge of any establishment, or
- the operator of any vehicle, trailer or other machine
which by accident, negligence or otherwise causes the discharge, spillage, uncontrolled loss, seepage or filtration of oil or petroleum or chemical liquids or solid, liquid or gaseous products or hazardous wastes, shall immediately report such facts to:
The Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP), Emergency Response Unit, 860-424-3338 or toll free 1-866-DEP-SPIL (1-866-337-7745), 24 hours/day. Should these number become unavailable for any reason, call 860-424-3333.
Immediately after the spill you are required to report facts such as:
- the location;
- the quantity and type of substance, material or waste;
- the date and the cause of the incident;
- the name and address of the owner; and
- the name and address of the person making the report and his relationship to the owner.
Note: Unless specifically requested, the DEEP does not require a written submission when reporting a spill.
Any person who fails to report incidents as required by Chapter 446k, Section 22a-450 may be fined not more than $1,000 and the employer of such person not more than $5,000.
Incidents that are required to be reported under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know, SARA Title III, CERCLA, RCRA, Federal Code of Regulations Title 40 (Environmental Protection) and/or Title 49 (Transportation) are reportable to the State Emergency Response Commission (Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection) at 860-424-3338 and the National Response Center, 800-424-8802 and the local community emergency coordinator. A report to the local fire department is also recommended (911 throughout Connecticut.).
It is the legal responsibility of the parties that caused the spill and the property owners to clean up the pollution and will attempt to get these parties to take appropriate action to clean up the spill immediately. As required by CGS Section 22a-454, any clean up must be performed by a licensed contractor.
- CGS 22a-450: Report of Discharge, "Any and Immediate"
- CGS 22a-451: Responsibility, "Strict Liability"
- CGS 22a-454: Clean-up must be performed by a permitted spill contractor
Content Last Updated August 2019