Frequently Asked Questions
Safe Water Skiing Endorsement
Do I need a Safe Water Skiing Endorsement?
If you are going to operate a vessel or a personal watercraft (i.e. jet ski, wave runner, sea doo) on Connecticut waters that is towing a skier, tube, or have anyone riding the wake of the vessel, the operator must:
- Be age 16 or older,
- Have a valid boating certificate from Connecticut or a reciprocal state (Rhode Island, New York, Massachusetts or New Hampshire) or have a valid Coast Guard operator’s license and
- Possess a Connecticut Safe Water Skiing Endorsement
How do I get a Safe Water Skiing Endorsement?If you need to get a Safe Water Skiing Endorsement, visit https://portal.ct.gov/DEEP/Boating/Safety/Safe-Waterskiing-Endorsement to take the online class.
If I am 15 years old or younger and was towing people behind my boat last year, am I allowed to tow again this year?
No, under the safe water skiing law, you must be at least 16 years old.
If I am 15 years old and the Safe Water Skiing Endorsement does not print on my certificate, what should I do?
When you turn 16 years old you will have to re-print your certificate in the Online Sportsmen’s Licensing System.
If I am from out of state and want to tow a waterskier in Connecticut, what do I need to do?
- If you received your certificate from a reciprocal state (New York, Rhode Island, Massachusetts or New Hampshire) before October 1, 2015, you are grandfathered and do not need to do anything.
- If you received your certificate from a reciprocal state after October 1, 2015, you must obtain your safe water skiing endorsement. Visit https://portal.ct.gov/DEEP/Boating/Safety/Safe-Waterskiing-Endorsement to take the online class.
- If you are from a non-reciprocal state, you will need to take a Connecticut approved boating class or successfully pass the Equivalency Exam.
Content last updated March 2021