Marine Event PermitsThe Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is accepting marine event permit applications through the ezFile system no earlier than 90 days prior to the event date. Governor Lamont has issued a number of Executive Orders to ensure public safety by increasing social distancing and reducing gatherings during the COVID-19 pandemic. Consistent with the Governor’s direction, at the time of submitting an application, the event must be consistent with the current Executive Orders and the Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) Sector Rules. A Marine Event Permit application must be submitted at least 45 days prior to the scheduled event. Applications will not be accepted if they are received less than 45 days prior to the event.
The Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies Sec. 15-121-A6 requires that a Marine Event Permit be obtained for a marine parade, regatta, race, tournament, exhibition, or other activity (see definitions below) held on Connecticut state waters for the following purposes:
- Participant or spectator vessels may cause interference with navigation on the body of water, or
- the event requests exclusion areas for non-participating vessels, or
- the fallout zone of any fireworks display includes a portion of state waters, or
- the event requests the use of a state boat launch, or
- the event requests the modification or suspension of a boating law or regulation.
- Fishing tournaments do not require a DEEP Marine Event Permit, but organizers must get a permit from the DEEP Fisheries Division.
- "State waters" are all inland water bodies within the state; meaning lakes, ponds and non-tidal water bodies.
- If your event is on "federal waters" (tidal waters), you must contact the U.S. Coast Guard for authorization.
A permit application must be clear and complete. The completed application must be received by the DEEP Boating Division at least forty-five (45) days in advance of the event. In addition, please note that no commercial activity is allowed at any state owned boat launch; this includes but is not limited to advertising, selling, or promoting services or products.
The Marine Event Permit application must now be submitted through DEEP's on-line ezFile system. Paper applications will no longer be accepted.
Note: You must first create an account, then an application can be completed and submitted electronically.
Below are links to commonly asked questions regarding the ezfile system.
How to create your new ezFile account
How to Unlock Your Account, Reset Password and other Account Manager features
Screen help for applicant information section
How to use the Scheduler function