Connecticut Arts Council & Foundation

Connecticut Arts Council

The Connecticut Arts Council was established within the Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) by Public Act 13-247. The Council members are appointed by the Governor and legislative leaders for a maximum of two (2) three-year or four-year terms. The Council consists of thirteen (13) members; with the commissioner of the Department of Economic and Community Development serving in an ex officio, voting capacity; and one (1) member, a designated DECD staff person serving in an ex officio, non-voting capacity. The Council relies on staff support from the Connecticut Office of the Arts. 

If you are a member of the public and would like to attend a Connecticut Arts Council meeting, please contact Melissa Diaz at

Connecticut Arts Council Foundation

The members of the Arts Council also serve as the Board of Directors for the Arts Council Foundation, established by legislative mandate in 2013 as an independent 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to enhancing a vibrant and sustainable environment for the arts in Connecticut. The mission of the Connecticut Arts Council Foundation, adopted by the Arts Council, is “to promote the value of private philanthropy for the arts in Connecticut, and to foster increased giving to statewide arts organizations and initiatives among individuals, corporations and foundations. The Board of the Foundation works with the state Office of the Arts to identify projects, award grants and monitor outcomes.