State Poet Laureate


The honorary position of Connecticut Poet Laureate was established in 1985 by the State of Connecticut to recognize exemplary poets who deliver words of inspiration, celebration and comfort. As the state's representative poet, the Poet Laureate serves as an advocate for poetry and promotes the appreciation of — and participation in — poetry and literary arts activities among Connecticut citizens. 

Each Poet Laureate serves a three-year term, for which they will receive an annual stipend for a total of $7,500 for the three-year grant contract. 

The Poet Laureate for 2018-2021 will be announced shortly. 

View Past State Poet Laureates  


Any Connecticut resident may nominate one poet for the Poet Laureate position who embodies the characteristics this award is designed to recognize. A self-nomination will not be accepted and no award will be given posthumously. Nominees must:

  • be full-time Connecticut residents (for at least the past five years prior to the nomination deadline);
  • possess a distinguished career in the field of poetry;
  • be available to travel and give presentations.

How to Nominate 

The nomination deadline has passed and the Poet Laureate for the term 2018-2021 will be announced shortly.

To nominate someone for the Poet Laureate position, nominators must email the following information to no later than February 2021. Be sure to include "Poet Laureate Nomination" in the email subject line and include:

  • nominator's name and contact information (street address, city, state, zip, phone and email);
  • contact information for the nominee (name, street address, city, state, zip, phone and email); and
  • a formal letter of support.

The Connecticut Office of the Arts will respond with a confirmation email and number. If you do not receive a confirmation number, please resubmit your email to ensure receipt.

Nominated poets will receive an invitation to submit an application for consideration.

Review the Nomination Guidelines here.

Selection Process

The Office identifies three professional panelists who assess applicants based on:

  • their reputation and distinction within the field of poetry;
  • the quality of the poet’s work; and
  • the poet’s commitment to fostering appreciation and participation in poetry.

Review the Selection Guidelines here.


For information or if you have questions, contact Tamara Dimitri at