About the West Region

The West Region of Connecticut’s Department of Developmental Services supports individuals and families throughout the counties of Fairfield County, Northern New Haven County and Litchfield County, covering a 57-town area.  Our offices are located in a 57-town area of Cheshire, Stamford, Danbury, Bridgeport, Norwalk, Torrington, Waterbury, and we may be reached Monday through Friday (except state holidays) from 8:00 AM – 4:30 PM.  The service area, population, and budget allocation for the West Region represent approximately one-third of the overall Department of Developmental Services.  

Supports offered by the West Region of DDS include case management, respite care, early intervention, family grants, family support services, in-home supports, residential services, employment services, and adult day programs.  Through our network of partner private agencies, families and individuals may choose from qualified providers offering family supports, employment and day programs, and residential services.  The region assists individuals and families that desire to direct their own services through our self-determination and support broker staff.  The region employs self-advocates and sponsors several active self-advocacy groups.

There are two residential campuses:  Northwest Center in Torrington; and Lower Fairfield Center in Norwalk that are managed by DDS Public Division and Southbury Training School in Southbury managed by the Southbury Training School Management Team.

Please explore the DDS website to learn more about DDS supports and services, self-advocacy, resources for families.