Connecticut Self Advocacy Groups Contacts
Please contact the group representative before attending any Self Advocacy meeting for the First Time.  Sometimes dates, times and locations are changed to support the members of the group.

North Region

 
Andover Smart SA group (Network) Group currently on hold and only open to Network individuals
3rd and 4th Tuesdays monthly, 5:30-7:30 p.m.
23 Route 6, Andover CT  06232
Advisor: Emily Turner eturner@networkhumanservices.org 860-344-3425
Contact: Varian Slaters varian.salters@ct.gov 860-456-6305
Bristol My Voice, My Choice (BARC)
Meets last Wednesday every month 3:30-5 p.m.
621 Jerome Ave Bristol
Advisor: Chris Eaton (w) 860-582-9102 ceaton@bristolarc.org
Contact: Denise Lyon dlyon1069@yahoo.com or Kevin Arce kevin.arce@ct.gov 860-263-2457
Canton Currently un-named (FAVARH) ***NO MEETING  in June, July, or August***
3rd Wednesday of the month from 3:30 p.m.- 4:30 p.m.
225 Commerce Drive Canton, CT 06019
Advisor: Tammy Annis tannis@favarh.org 860-693-6662 ext 107
Contact: Yana Razumnaya yana.razumnaya@ct.gov 860-263-2554
Danielson – Self Advocates United (QVARC)
4th Wednesday of month 6 p.m.
193 Mechanic St Danielson CT 06239
Advisor: Jamie Lazaroff (w) 860-774-2827 (c) 860-377-6341 selfadvocate@qvarc.org or jdlazaroff@yahoo.com
Contact: Varian Salters varian.salters@ct.gov 860-456-6345
East Hartford – TEAM
4th Tuesday of month 6:30 p.m. –  7:30 p.m.
DDS North Region Office 155 Founders Plaza 255 Pitkin St.  East Hartford CT 06108
Advisor: Josephine "Tuty" Huerta (w) 860-331-2098 Josephine.huerta@ct.gov
Contact: Kevin Arce kevin.arce@ct.gov 860-263-2457
East Hartford – United Voices (Easter Seals)
2nd Tuesday of month 9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
22 Prestige Park Rd East Hartford CT 06108
Advisor: Sandy Horwitz shorwitz@escrec.org
Group contact: Yana Razumnaya yana.razumnaya@ct.gov 860-263-2554
Enfield – Together We Can (*A CT People First Group at Allied)
4th Wednesday every other month
Allied Office, 3 Pearson Way Enfield CT 
Advisor: Katlyn Smitkowski ksmitkowski@alliedgroup.org  860-741-3701 ext. 284
Contact: Kevin Arce kevin.arce@ct.gov 860-263-2457
Hartford – What’s Happening (HARC)
Group meets varying dates usually 4 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.
HARC 900 Asylum Ave Hartford CT 06105
Advisor: Dawn Allen dallen@harc-ct.org
Group contact: Yana Razumnaya yana.razumnaya@ct.gov 860-263-2554
Manchester – Manchester Movers & Shakers Self (Journey Found)
2nd Wednesday of month 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
60 Hilliard St. Manchester CT 06040
Co-Advisor: Kelly Howard khoward@journeyfound.org 203-465-9594
Co-Advisor: Stacy Dingee adingee@journeyfound.org 860-643-9844
Contact: Kevin Arce kevin.arce@ct.gov 860-263-2457
Manchester – Let's Make Friends SA group (Corp. for Public Mgmt.) Group open to CPM ind's only
75 Summit Street Manchester
Advisor: Cindy Gamache 860-643-0355
Contact: Varian Salters varian.salters@ct.gov 860-456-6345
Manchester - Voices For Change SA group (*A CT People First Group at MARC)
2nd Thursday 5:00 - 6:00 p.m.
151 Sheldon Rd Manchester, Building 151
Advisor: Peter Engelbrecht pengelbrecht@marcct.org 860-646-5718
Contact: Varian Salters varian.salters@ct.gov 860-456-6345
New Britain - CLIMB SA group (closed group)
Fridays monthly (dates vary) from 9:00 - 10:00 a.m.
183 Steele Street Adult Learning Center New Britain
Advisor: Dori Sargent sargent@csdnb.org
Contact: Kevin Arce kevin.arce@ct.gov 860-263-2457
New Britain – Yes I Can (*A CT People First Group at CCARC)
Meetings every other Tuesday
CCARC Bldg., 250 Slater Rd New Britain
Advisor: Lorraine Muzzulin lmuzzulin@ccarc.com 860-229-6665
Contact: Kevin Arce kevin.arce@ct.gov 860-263-2457
New Britain – CW Resources
Meetings bi monthly/days vary
Advisors: Sandy Lavoy slavoy@cwresources.org or Mike Carnright MCarnright@cwresources.org
Contact: Yana Razumnaya yana.razumnaya@ct.gov 860-263-2554
Southington  A New Way Self Advocacy Group (*A CT People First Group)
Meets the 2nd Wednesday of the Month
The Orchards, 34 Hobart St., Southington, CT 06489 
Contact: Mike Ruzzi sac@arc-south.org phone 860-628-9220 ext. 240 or 860-6289220 ext. 140
Contact: Kevin Arce kevin.arce@ct.gov 860-263-2457
Vernon Friends Making a Difference (Whole Life) on hold until 3/18
Meets 1st Thursday monthly from 6:00 p.m.- 7:00 p.m.
New Tolland location TBD
Advisor: Deanna Rios drios@wholelifeinc.org 860-818-2682
Contact: Varian Salters varian.salters@ct.gov 860-456-6345
West Hartford (Independent group)
1st Wednesday monthly, 6:00 - 7:00 p.m.
Elmwood Community Center, 1106 New Britain Ave., West Hartford
Contact: Yana Razumnaya yana.razumnaya@ct.gov 860-263-2554
Willimantic – Rock & Roll Express (*A CT People First Group)
3rd Tuesday 6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Cedarwood Apts, (Community Room), 200 Cameo Drive, Willimantic CT 06226
Advisor: Claire Lary dlary@snet.net or
Contact: Varian Salters varian.salters@ct.gov 860-456-6345
Windsor Viability SA group (Group currently open to Viability individuals only)
3rd Mondays monthly 2:00-3:00 p.m.
Viability office (formerly Community Enterprise) 29 Bloomfield Avenue Windsor
Advisor: Jennifer Sirois jsirois@viability.org 860-688-7918
Contact: Kevin Arce kevin.arce@ct.gov 860-263-2457
Windsor Vinfen United (VinFen)
2nd or 3rd Tuesday every other month 10:30 am - 11:30 a.m.
860 Prospect Hill Rd, Windsor, CT
Advisor: Laura Hostillo hastillol@vinfen.org 860-688-3169 or 860-688-3165
Contact: Yana Razumnaya yana.razumnaya@ct.gov 860-263-2554
DDS North Region Contacts:
Amy M. Blazawski, Director of Self Determination
Martin Zaugg, SD Employment Coordinator
martin.zaugg@ct.gov 860-263-2596
Patricia Cymbala, SD Employment Instructor


South Region

Ansonia - Valley Advocates  
435 East Main Street, Ansonia, CT. 06401
Advisor: Lee Heller LHeller@bhcare.@care.org 203-736-2601 ext.1434
Contact:  Genna Lewis Genna.Lewis@ct.gov  203-974-4232
Colchester - New Beginnings
Meets the second and the fourth Monday of the month at 6:30 p.m.
263 South Main Street, Colchester, CT
Advisor: Ellen Young ellen@newbeginningsforlife.com 860-531-9426
Contact: Kellie Hartigan Kellie.Hartigan@ct.gov
Cromwell - Dreamcatchers Group
Meets the 3rd Monday of the month at 6:00pm-8:00pm
100 Sebethe Drive Suite A2, Cromwell, CT. 06416
Advisor: Alison Leue Allison.leue@mosaicinfo.org  860-632-2814
Contact: Carol Grabbe Carol.Grabbe@ct.gov 203-294-5119
Franklin - Advocated of Circle Group
Meets the 2nd Thursday of the month at 4:30pm
Drew House 833 Route 32 New London, CT. 
Advisor: Kevin Jerrica kevin.jerrick@caringcommunityct.org
Contact: Kellie Hartigan kellie.hartigan@ct.gov 860-859-5512
                                               
Groton - Puffing’s Self- Advocacy
Meets the 3rd Thursday or Friday of each month at 10:30am
169 Thames St., Groton, CT
Advisor: Jessica Bonin   jbonin@seabirdenterprises.org     860-446-0882 ext. 202
Contact: Kellie Hartigan kellie.hartigan@ct.gov 860-859-5512
                                                        
Hamden - Rising Stars Group
Meets the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 12:00 pm
109 Sanford Street, Hamden, CT. 06514
Advisor: Mary Turner  203-288-7932
Contact: Genna Lewis Genna.Lewis@ct.gov 203-974-4232
Hamden - No name yet
Meets the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 4:00 p.m.
2666 State Street Hamden, CT 06517
Advisor: Jennifer Lacey JLacey@communitysocialintegration.com 203-889-2204
Contact:  Genna Lewis Genna.Lewis@ct.gov  203-974-4232
Meriden - Socialites Group
Meets the 2nd Tuesday of the month 5:00pm-6:30pm
200 Research Pkwy. Meriden, CT.
Advisor:  Michelle Bell mbell@mwsinc.org 203-238-8396
Contact: Carol Grabbe Carol.Grabbe@ct.gov 203-294-5119
Meriden - Helping Stars Group
Meets at different dates and times each month
290 Pratt Street Suite 2200, Meriden, CT.
Please call 203-440-9456 for more information on the next meeting.
Advisor:  Brandon Stallworth 203-440-9456
Contact: Carol Grabbe Carol.Grabbe@ct.gov 203-294-5119
Meriden - Action Group
Meets the 3rd Tuesday of each month 5:30pm-7:00pm
538 Preston Ave. Meriden, CT.
Advisor: Lori Ann Aiello laiello@ippi.org
Contact: Carol Grabbe Carol.Grabbe@ct.gov 203-294-5119
Middletown - Problem Solvers Group
Meets the 1st Monday of the month 5:30pm-7:30pm
282 Main Street Ext., Middletown, CT. 06457
Advisor: Cathy Garafalo  cgarofalo@newenglandresidential.com   860-347-9633 ext.103
Contact: Carol Grabbe Carol.Grabbe@ct.gov 203-294-5119

Middletown - Advocates Unlimited Group
Meets the 3rd Wednesday of the month 6:00pm-8:00pm
First Church of Christ, 190 Court Street, Middletown, CT. 06457
Advisor: Tawnia Pacheco Tawnia.A.Pacheco@ct.gov  203-294-5077
Contact: Carol Grabbe Carol.Grabbe@ct.gov 203-294-5119

Middletown - The Guardian Angels
Meets the 3rd Wednesday of the month 6:00pm - 8:00pm
124 Washington Street, Middletown, CT. 06457
Advisor: Ben Davies ben.davies@marc-cr.org  860-342-0700 ext. 216
Contact: Carol Grabbe Carol.Grabbe@ct.gov 203-294-5119

New Haven - Continuum Advocates Group
Meets the 2ndThusday of the month at varying times
Meeting place varies from month to month
Advisor: Lauren Goldberg LGoldberg@continuumct.org 860-358 9413
Contact:  Genna Lewis Genna.Lewis@ct.gov  203-974-4232
                                                       
New Haven - Power of Voices Group
Meets the 2nd Tuesday of the month at 5 pm
524 Whalley Avenue, New Haven, CT. 06511
Advisor: Corrine Jackson cjackon@marrakechinc.org  203-389-2970
Contact:  Genna Lewis Genna.Lewis@ct.gov  203-974-4232
New London: Arc of New London merged with Guide Inc. and Buckingham Community
Meets the 3rd Thursday of the month from 5:30pm -7:00pm
125 Sachem St., Norwich, CT
Advisor: Denise Tift Dtift@thearcnic.org  860-889-4435
Contact: Kellie Hartigan Kellie.Hartigan@ct.gov
North Haven - Access Power Group
Meets the 1st Tuesday of the month at 1:30pm
60 United Drive, North Haven, CT. 06473
Advisor: Debbie Lifton dlifton@aces.org 203-234-1344
Contact:  Genna Lewis Genna.Lewis@ct.gov  203-974-4232
North Haven - No name yet
Meets quarterly the last Monday of the month at 8:00pm
432 Washington Avenue, North Haven, CT. 06473
Advisor: Cheryl Franklin CFranklin@esginh.org 203-777-2000 ext.246
Contact:  Genna Lewis Genna.Lewis@ct.gov 203-974-4232
Norwich - Member Advisory Committee (Reliance House)
Meets the 1st Monday of the month at 11 a.m.
40 Broadway, Norwich, CT
Advisor:  Patrick Brown pbrown@reliaannehouse.org 860-887-6536
Contact: Kellie Hartigan Kellie.Hartigan@ct.gov
Norwich - Shooting Stars THIS LOOKS LIKE IT HAD MERGED WITH THE NEW LONDON ARC SEE BELOW
Meets the 3rd Thursday of the month from 5:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
125 Sachem Street, Norwich, CT
Advisor:  Denise Tift Dtift@thearcnic.org 860-889-4435
Contact: Kellie Hartigan Kellie.Hartigan@ct.gov 860-859-5512
Waterford - CVS Waterford Angels
Meets the 2nd Tuesday of the month at 10:00am
181 Boston Post Road, Waterford, CT.
Advisor: Jen Curcio  jcurcio83@gmail.com
Contact: Kellie Hartigan Kellie.Hartigan@ct.gov 860-859-5512
                                        
West Haven - West Haven Community Connections
Meets the 3rd Thursday of the month 3:00 pm-4:30pm
622 Campbell Avenue, West Haven, CT 06516
Advisor: Karlpepin@whcommunityhouse.net 203-934-5221
Contact:  Genna Lewis Genna.Lewis@ct.gov 203-974-4232
                                                         
DDS South Region Contacts:
Gregory H. McMahon, Director of Self Determination
Gregory.mcmahon@ct.gov  203-294-5063
Sandi Geer, Self Determination Employment Coordinator
Sandi.geer@ct.gov 203-509-4783

Mallory Valdez, Self Determination Employment Instructor
Mallory.valdez@ct.gov 203-805-7466

West Region

Berlin – SAGS (RMS)
Group meets at 808 4 Rod Rd, Berlin, CT 06037
They meet once a month on a Tuesday from 5-7 pm
Contact: Jossie Torres, jossie.torres@ct.gov 203-805-7431
Group Advisor: Lori Tyler 860-828-8635 ext.38
Bridgeport - Goodwill Industries
Group meets every 2nd Wednesday of each month from 1:15 pm to 2:30
Group meets at 165 Ocean Terrace Drive, Bridgeport CT 06605
Contact: Jossie Torres, jossie.torres@ct.gov 203-805-7431
Group Advisor: Abigail Pedraza 203-581-5339
Cheshire – Abilities Without Boundaries - Super Star SA Advisors
Group meets the first 3rd Tuesday of the month from 1:30 to 2:30 p.m. 
615 West Johnson Avenue Cheshire CT 06410
Contact: Jossie Torres, jossie.torres@ct.gov 203-805-7431
Group Advisor: Mark Proffitt and Jalisa Pendarvis  203-272-5607
Danbury – Education Connection
Group meets at various dates and times each month
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Group Advisor: Laurel Scott 
Danbury - The Cool Gang Self Advocates of Danbury
Group meets the fourth Wednesday of the month from 5 - 7 pm
166 Old Brookfield Rd, Danbury, CT 06811
Contact: Jossie Torres, jossie.torres@ct.gov 203-805-7431
Greenwich - Abilis, Inc.
Group meeting date and time varies
50 Glenville Street, Greenwich, CT 06831
Contact: Jossie Torres, jossie.torres@ct.gov 203-805-7431
Advisor: Carol Mandras 203-531-1880 ext. 116
Norwalk – The Martin House 
They meet the third Thursday of the month from 4-5pm
4 Shorehaven Rd, Norwalk, CT 06855
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Group Advisor: Sylvia Matthews
Norwalk - LFC
Group meets the 2nd Wednesday of the month from 6 - 8 p.m. (12 houses/12 groups)
142 Silvermine Ave., Norwalk, CT
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Norwalk – STAR – Lighting the Way
Group meets the 1st Tuesday of every month from 3-5pm
182 Wolf Pitt Ave. Norwalk, CT 06815
Contact: Jossie Torres jossie.torres@ct.gov 203-805-7431
Group Advisor: Mark Minnock 203-846-9581 ext.304
Oxford - CPM
Group meets the 4th Wednesday of the month from 9 - 12:30 p.m.
Group is on hold - Currently moving to Waterbury
Contact: Jossie Torres jossie.torres@ct.gov 203-805-7431
Advisor: Zane
Stratford - United for Change
Group meets every 3rd Wednesday of every month from 4:30-7:00
300 Armory Road in Stratford, CT
Contact: Jossie Torres jossie.torres@ct.gov 203-805-7431
Group Advisor: Vilma Pellot 203-727-9618
  
Torrington – Torrington Independence Group (open DDS group) Public
Group meets the last Thursday of the month unless it is a holiday, from 5-6:30 pm
195 Alvrod Park Road, Torrington, CT 06790
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov  860-496-3067 
Torrington - Transition Employees United (open DDS group) Public
Group meets 1st Monday of the month unless it is a holiday, from 10-11am
TEU office, 15 School Street, Torrington, CT 06790
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Torrington – Campus, Spruce
Group meets the 3rd Tuesday of every month from 6:00-6:15pm
Alvrod Park Road, Torrington, CT 06790
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Torrington – Campus, Pine
Group meets the 3rd Tuesday of every month from 6:30-6:45 pm
Alvrod Park Road, Torrington, CT 06790 
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Torrington – Campus, Oak
Group meets the 3rd Tuesday of every month from 7:00-7:15 pm
Alvrod Park Road, Torrington, CT 06790
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Torrington – Campus, Maple
Group meets the 3rd Tuesday of every month from 7:15-7:30 pm
Alvrod Park Road, Torrington, CT 06790
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Torrington – Advocacy Fit Club
Group meets every Monday, times are determined by location. 
Group meets at various places
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Torrington – Education Connection
Group meets at various dates and times each month
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Group Advisor: Diane Lefebvre 860-567-0863
Torrington – Baraco
Group meets at various dates and times each month
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Group Advisor: Katie Adams 860-482-5682

Torrington – Community Systems Inc. (CSI)
Group meets the 1st Monday of the month from 3:30-5:00 pm
295 Alvord Park Rd, Torrington, CT 06790
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Group Advisor: Traci Damon Traci.Damon@csi-ct.org
Winsted – Winsted Senior Center
Group meets at various dates and times each month
Contact: James Louchen james.louchen@ct.gov 860-496-3067
Group Advisor: Ellen Schroder  Ellen@winstedseniorcenter.com 860-379-8325
DDS West Region Contacts:
Beth Aura Miller, Director of Self Determination
Bethaura.miller@ct.gov  203-805-7430
Sandi Geer, Self Determination Employment Coordinator
Sandi.geer@ct.gov 203-805-7460
Mallory Valdez, Self Determination Employment Instructor
Mallory.valdez@ct.gov 203-805-7466