Search Department of Consumer Protection Filtered Topic Search

Medical Marijuana

Understanding the Law
  • Designed to enable truly sick patients to engage in the palliative use of marijuana while preventing marijuana from being misused or diverted from its medical purpose.
  • Provides immunity from state criminal and civil penalties for physicians, patients, caregivers, dispensaries and producers who act responsibly in accordance with the law.
  • Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 420f, Section 21a-408, An Act Concerning the Palliative Use of Marijuana, was signed into law on May 31, 2012.
Requirements for a Qualifying Patient

To qualify for a medical marijuana registration certificate, a patient must be:

  • Diagnosed by a physician as having one of the debilitating medical conditions set out in the law;
  • 18 years of age;
  • a Connecticut resident; and
  • Not an inmate in a Department of Corrections institution or facility.

Registration Process for Patients

  • Patient is diagnosed by certifying physician.
  • Patient completes certification process online.
  • Caregiver completes certifications if required.
  • Upon approval by the Department, a card is issued to both the patient and caregiver (if needed).
  • Once card is issued, immunity becomes active.
  • Cards are renewed on a yearly basis after a new certification by the physician.
  • Marijuana cannot be used in a place or manner that puts others at risk.
Requirements for a Primary Caregiver

Patient’s physician must have certified the need for a caregiver; and the caregiver must:

  • Be 18 years of age;
  • Not be the patient’s physician;
  • Not have been convicted of a law pertaining to the illegal manufacture, sale or distribution of a controlled substance;
  • Where the adult patient lacks legal capacity, must be a parent, guardian or legal custodian; and
  • Can only be responsible for one patient unless there is a parental, guardianship, conservatorship or sibling relationship with each patient.
Immunity

Those who comply with the law are protected from negative consequences, including:

  • Arrest;
  • Prosecution;
  • Civil Penalties; or
  • Any other penalties, including disciplinary action by the Connecticut Medical Examining Board or other professional licensing board.

The statute provides immunity from state criminal and civil penalties for physicians, patients, caregivers, dispensaries and producers who act responsibly in accordance with the law.

Medical marijuana cannot be used in the following circumstances:

  • In a motor bus, a school bus or any other moving vehicle.
  • In the workplace.
  • On any school grounds or on any public or private school, dormitory, college or university property
  • In any public place.
  • In the presence of a person under the age of 18 years of age.
  • In any other way that endangers the health or well being of a person other than the qualifying patient or primary caregiver.
Out of State Medical Marijuana Patient Cards and Dispensed Product
  • Patients must have a Connecticut Medical Marijuana Registration Certificate (card) in order to possess marijuana. Out of state Medical Marijuana Cards do not provide any immunity from arrest or prosecution.
  • Medical Marijuana will be dispensed in child proof container.  However, no requirements on keeping dispensed product in the original container. 
Medical Marijuana Card Verification
To verify a qualifying patient's or primary caregiver's medical marijuana card, law enforcement personnel must register with the Connecticut Prescription Monitoring & Reporting system at www.ctpmp.com.
  • Website is available: 24 hours / 7 days
Medical marijuana card images and security features are available by contacting the Prescription Monitoring Program at (860) 713-6073.
CPMRS Registration Requirements:
  • Police Chief or equivalent law enforcement personnel must authorize users.
  • Law enforcement personnel must complete the online registration process:
Visit the CPMRS website at www.ctpmp.com and click on the "Not a Member? Register" link.
  • At the Job selection screen, select "Medical Marijuana Registry" (do not select Law Enforcement) 
  • Provide your basic contact information along with your badge ID number.
  • Once the registration application is submitted online, you will receive a confirmation page.
  • Print the confirmation page and have the form notarized by a licensed notary or signature from any law enforcement personnel that can sign off on legal documents in your department.
  • Fax the notarized confirmation page along with a copy of your driver's license, passport or any government-issued photo identification card to (860) 622-2608.
  • Once your registration has been processed, your user name and password will be e-mailed to the address provided on the form.