• For any person seeking access to the Council's records, please email siting.council@ct.gov at least 24 hours in advance for an appointment.

• Please be advised that all hard copy filing requirements will reapply to all matters as of June 1, 2021.

Meeting Minutes

Meeting of August 31, 1999

A meeting of the Connecticut Siting Council (hazardous waste/low-level radioactive waste) was held on Tuesday, August 31, 1999, in Hearing Room Two, Ten Franklin Square, New Britain, Connecticut. The meeting was called to order with a quorum present by Chairman Mortimer A. Gelston at 1:00 p.m.

Council Members Present:

Mortimer A. Gelston					Albert E. Gary
 Chairman						Pamela B. Katz
Carolyn Jean Webb (designee for				Daniel P. Lynch, Jr.
 Commissioner Joxel Garcia, MD)				Colin C. Tait
Lieutenant Colonel Marjorie Kolpa (designee for		William H. Smith
 Commissioner Dr. Henry C. Lee) arrived at 1:02 p.m.	Edward S. Wilensky

Staff Members Present:

Joel M. Rinebold					Paul M. Aresta
 Executive Director					Siting Analyst
Mark F. Kohler					Steven L. Levine
 Assistant Attorney General				Siting Analyst
Fred O. Cunliffe					
 Siting Analyst						

Recording Secretary:

Jenice L. Holmes

Minutes of May 25, 1999.

Mr. Wilensky moved to approve the Minutes of May 25, 1999; seconded by Dr. Smith. The motion passed unanimously.

Chairman Gelston introduced Colonel Kolpa, designee for Commissioner Henry C. Lee to the Council and staff.

PETITION NO. 426HW - Uniroyal Chemical Company, Inc. petition that no Certificate of Public Safety and Necessity is required to close certain hazardous waste container storage areas and refurbish a hazardous waste storage building located at 280 Elm Street in Naugatuck, Connecticut. Decision.

Mr. Wilensky moved to approve this petition; seconded by Mr. Lynch. The motion passed unanimously.

Administrative Matters

Mr. Rinebold, Executive Director stated that the next meeting would be scheduled as necessary, however a meeting will be scheduled once a year regardless.


Chairman Gelston adjourned the meeting at 1:08 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Mortimer A. Gelston