|FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
April 2, 2020
CONTACT: Jim Carson, 860-297-3958
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER LAUDS GOVERNOR’S EXECUTIVE ORDER REQUIRING A
60-DAY GRACE PERIOD ON INSURANCE PREMIUM PAYMENTS & CANCELLATION
The nation’s insurance capital saw an example of how all stakeholders can work together to help policyholders financially affected by the economic downturn caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. Under Executive Order No. 7S, individuals, families, and businesses now have the much needed certainty they will receive the security that insurance brings in these unprecedented times. All affected consumers will receive a 60-day premium payment grace period beginning April 1 and running until June 1.
“Our insurance industry has answered the call and responded to help protect those most affected by our current crisis by providing a much-needed financial buffer,” said Governor Ned Lamont. “I’m grateful to those including our life and property-casualty insurers who have offered to work in partnership with the State and are already providing relief. My administration will continue to fight for and support the middle class, small businesses and seniors of our state.”
Connecticut Insurance Department Commissioner Andrew N. Mais commended Governor Lamont and insurers for extending a 60-day grace period in light of the disruption caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.
“I am thrilled to offer consumers, individuals, and businesses s certainty in these difficult times,” said Commissioner Mais. “This Department has been working collaboratively with stakeholders and regulators in neighboring states, such as New York’s Superintendent Linda A. Lacewell and her staff, as have our Governors. This is a problem that crosses our borders and that we must all come together to address.”
Consumers should take note that the grace period is not automatic. To be eligible, affected policyholders must contact their broker, agent and insurers to provide additional information acceptable to their carriers.
This Connecticut directive applies to all entities and lines of coverage licensed or regulated by the Insurance Department, including: life, health, auto, property, casualty and other types of insurance. Insurance companies will not terminate a covered insurance policy because a policyholder does not have the resources to pay a premium or interest during this time as result of the COVID-19 crisis. Additional details and guidance are included in an Insurance Department notice released today.
The Connecticut Insurance Department regulates fully insured health insurance plans issued in the State of Connecticut only. Some employers, especially large ones, sponsor self-funded health plans that are regulated by the U.S. Department of Labor under ERISA. Those plans are not subject to this Order, any state insurance law, Insurance Department regulation, or other state statute.
Consumers, insurers and brokers with questions can contact the department directly by email at firstname.lastname@example.org, online, or by calling the Department at 800-203-3447 or 860-297-3900.
For the most up-to-date information from the State of Connecticut on COVID-19, including guidance and other resources, visit ct.gov/coronavirus. Regular email news updates are available from the Governor’s Office by subscribing online here.
- Email us at email@example.com
- Ask a question or file a complaint online
- Call the Consumer Helpline at 800-203-3447 or 860-297-3900.
- Sign up for e-alerts to get the latest news, warnings and rate changes that may affect your premium
- Download consumer FAQs on health, homeowner and auto coverage
- Use the Department’s Speakers Bureau for public events.
- Visit our Web site and follow the Department on Facebook, Twitter or YouTube