State of Connecticut - Insurance Department

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
October 30, 2019
CONTACT: Jim Carson, 860-297-3958
Jim.Carson@ct.gov
 

Commissioner Approves Decreases in Workers Comp Insurance
for Sixth Straight Year

Loss costs decrease 2.9% and assigned risk rate decrease 4.5% for 2020

 

Commissioner Andrew N. Mais announced that the Connecticut Insurance Department (CID) has approved decreases of 2.9 percent to workers compensation pure premium loss costs and a 4.5 percent reduction in rates for assigned risk. These reductions mark a sixth consecutive year drop.

“The loss costs and assigned risk rates have steadily gone down over the last six years – and has helped businesses better control workers compensation insurance costs - one of their critical operating expenses,” Commissioner Mais said. “This reflects an ongoing decrease in the number of workplace injuries and claims filed and on average, lower medical costs per claim.”

The Department approved the filing of the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI), which compiles data annually from the workers compensation market in Connecticut and countrywide in order to annually propose rate adjustments for the ensuing year.

The changes take effect January 1, 2020.

 
###
 
About the Connecticut Insurance Department: The mission of the Department is to protect consumers through regulation of the industry, outreach, education and advocacy. In FY 2018, the Department recovered more than $4.5 million on behalf of consumers and regulates the industry by ensuring carriers adhere to state insurance laws and regulations and are financially solvent to pay claims. The Department’s annual budget is funded through assessments from the insurance industry. For every dollar of direct expense, the Department brings in about $8.35 to the state in revenues. In FY 2018, the Department returned more than $145 million in assessments, fees, fines and penalties, and taxes to the state’s General Fund.
 
For help with all your insurance issues:
  • Email us at insurance@ct.gov
  • Ask a question or file a complaint online
  • Call the Consumer Helpline at 800-203-3447 or 860-297-3900.
  • Sign up for e-alerts to get the latest news, warnings and rate changes that may affect your premium
  • Download consumer FAQs on health, homeowner and auto coverage
  • Use the Department’s Speakers Bureau for public events.
  • Visit our Web site and follow the Department on Facebook, Twitter or YouTube