The offices are open to the public during regular business hours, Monday - Friday 8 AM – 4:30 PM. We strongly encourages visitors to pre-schedule visits via e-mail at insurance@ct.gov, or by calling 860-297-3900. Insurance companies and licensees can call 860-297-3800 directly. Service of process on the Insurance Commissioner will be accepted Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Masks are required to enter the reception area and office space.
Click here to view the Department's coronavirus information.

Press Releases – July 12, 2019

 Contact: Jim Carson, 860-297-3958
 
Statement from Insurance Commissioner Andrew N. Mais
On Health Insurance Rate Filings for 2020
 

“The Connecticut Insurance Department has received 14 rate filings from 10 health insurers for plans that will be marketed in the individual and small group market, both on and off the state-sponsored exchange, Access Health CT. Without the approximately 3 percentage point increase resulting from the recently reinstated federally mandated health insurer tax, the proposed increases are lower than last year’s. In addition to the federal tax, ongoing rising cost of health care is a key driver of health insurance premium rate increase requests.

Regardless of the uncertainties surrounding the legal challenges to the Affordable Care Act, health plans licensed by the DOI cannot apply pre-existing conditions and must include all of the Essential Health Benefits.”

Click here for: Rate Chart and Rate Filings

 
###
 
About the Connecticut Insurance Department: The mission of the Department is to protect consumers through regulation of the industry, outreach, education and advocacy. In FY 2018, the Department recovered more than $4.5 million on behalf of consumers and regulates the industry by ensuring carriers adhere to state insurance laws and regulations and are financially solvent to pay claims. The Department’s annual budget is funded through assessments from the insurance industry. For every dollar of direct expense, the Department brings in about $8.35 to the state in revenues. In FY 2018, the Department returned more than $145 million in assessments, fees, fines and penalties, and taxes to the state’s General Fund.
 

For help with all your insurance issues:

  • Email us at insurance@ct.gov
  • Ask a question or file a complaint online
  • Call the Consumer Helpline at 800-203-3447 or 860-297-3900.
  • Sign up for e-alerts to get the latest news, warnings and rate changes that may affect your premium
  • Download consumer FAQs on health, homeowner and auto coverage
  • Use the Department’s Speakers Bureau for public events.
  • Visit our Web site and follow the Department on Facebook, Twitter or YouTube