This office is currently closed to public visitors as a protective measure for the safety of customers and staff. The department will continue to provide services by email and telephone. Consumers with questions can call 860-297-3900. Insurance companies and licensees can call 860-297-3800 directly. Service of process on the Insurance Commissioner will be accepted Tuesdays & Thursdays, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Visit the Department coronavirus information Tropical Storm ISAIAS

Certified Insurance Consultant:
Applicable to: Individuals, at least 18 years of age and of good moral character.
Business Entity, all business names.
Description: Application for first-time license and reinstatement; fee; license requirements; miscellaneous forms and links. License to offer advice, counsel, opinion or service (for a fee)
Re: Life/Accident & Health insurance and/or Property/Casualty insurance. License required using certain titles per statute.
Fee: Initial, Amendment or Reinstatement - $300.00
There is no prorating of fees.
License fees are non-refundable.
Duration: Biennial. License expires September 30th each odd-numbered year.

Individual Requirements – Initial, Amendment or Reinstatement Applications:
Prerequisites: None
Required Documents: Complete application, fee and any documentation required based on a “yes” answer to a question.
The Department will verify either a passed Connecticut examination score report or evidence of equivalent license in any other state.
Apply for a License: https://cidonline.ct.gov/lit/CTLicensingTask.jsp
Waiver of Examination:
In lieu of passing the exam, email or fax (within 90 days) Letter of Designation from society referencing the CID application number or NIPR transaction number.
  • Life/Accident & Health - for any applicant who has been awarded the professional designation of CLU and provides a current Letter of Designation.
  • Property/Casualty - for any applicant who has been awarded the professional designation of CPCU, AAI, or CIC and provides a current Letter of Designation.
Send current copy (dated within 90 days) Letter of Designation from society. Include application number on letter.

Business Entity – Initial, Amendment or Reinstatement Applications:
Perquisites: At least one owner, partner, officer, director or designated responsible person must hold an equivalent license in Connecticut.
Apply for a License: https://cidonline.ct.gov/lit/CTLicensingTask.jsp
Required Documents: Complete application, fee and any documentation required based on a “yes” answer to a question.
The Department will verify evidence of equivalent license in any other state for Non-Resident applicants, and any documentation required based on a “yes” answer to a question.

Individuals and Business Entity – Renewal Applications:
Required Documents: Effective March, 2016, Renewal forms are no longer mailed out, the renewal form will be emailed to the email address on file, 60 days prior to the expiration date.
If you need to verify or update your email information, please go to Update Your License Information.
Fee: $250.00
There is no prorating of fees.
License fees are non-refundable.
Renew a License: Submit paper form with check or money order payable to the “Treasurer, State of Connecticut.”
Duration: Biennial. License expires September 30th each odd-numbered year.
Continuing Education: None

Applications, Forms & Other:
Change/Update/Verify License Information: (Name, Email, Address, Designee)
Individual licensees can verify and/or change their email, name, residence, business, mailing addresses, phone numbers, or add or remove a DBA name. Business Entity licensees can verify and/or change their email, physical and mailing addresses, phone number, add or remove a DBA name or add or remove Licensed Responsible Parties (designees)

Print a Receipt of Payment: ONLY for applications processed within the Connecticut Insurance Online system


Contact Information:
Email: cid.licensing@ct.gov
Fax: (860) 297-3978
Regular Mail: State of Connecticut, Insurance Dept., Attn: Licensing, PO Box 816, Hartford, CT 06142-0816
Overnight Mail: State of Connecticut, Insurance Dept., Attn: Licensing, 153 Market Street, 7th Floor, Hartford, CT 06103