Surplus Lines Broker

Definition

SURPLUS LINES INSURANCE BROKER – Any person placing insurance coverage with a non-admitted carrier, after exhausting the admitted market.

Applicable Statutes

C.G.S. §38a-740 to 794 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees

Initial: $675.00
Reinstatement: $675.00
Renewal: $625.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration

Two (2) years – Expires September 30th every EVEN year..

How to Apply

Residents:

  • Residents are required to hold an active/good standing Producer Property & Casualty license in Connecticut.
  • No Pre-licensing course is required before taking the Surplus Lines exam.
  • Download the Candidate Handbook and schedule the exam.
  • After passing the exam, apply by going to the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”
    (Note: you do not need to submit the passed examination, the Department will verify this information with our vendor.)

Non-Residents:

  • Connecticut will grant reciprocity with an equivalent license in your home/resident state.
  • Apply by going to the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to Renew

How to Amend Lines of Authority

Not applicable.

How to Reinstate a License

After September 30th every EVEN year, reinstate the license by going to the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to change License information (ie.: email and address)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements

  • No pre-licensing course is required.
  • Residents must hold an active/good standing Producer Property & Casualty license in Connecticut.

Waivers due to Designations

None

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

Connecticut does not require CE for any Surplus Lines Broker.

Cancel License

License Voluntary – Surrender Request