Motor Vehicle Physical Damage (MVDP) Appraiser

Definition

MOTOR VEHICLE PHYSICAL DAMAGE (MVPD) APPRAISER – Motor Vehicle Physical Damage Appraiser means any person who or which practices as a business the appraising of damages to motor vehicles insured under automobile physical damage policies or on behalf of third party claimants.

Applicable Statutes

C.G.S. §38a-790 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees

Initial: $130.00
Amendment: $130.00
Reinstatement: $130.00
Renewal: $80.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration

Two (2) years – Renews June 30th every ODD year.

How to Apply

Residents:

  • No pre-licensing course is required before taking the Appraiser exam. (Study Material)
  • To download the Candidate Handbook and schedule the exam.
  • MVPD Appraiser license type requires a written exams.
  • After passing the exam, apply at the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”
    (Note: you do not need to submit the passed examination, the Department will verify this information with our vendor.)

Non-Residents:

Non-Residents claiming DHS:

  • Connecticut issues Non-Resident DHS status to an individual who resides in a state with no Appraiser licensing
  • Same requirements as in the Residents section above.
  • After passing the exam, apply at the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to Renew

How to Amend Lines of Authority

Not Applicable

How to Reinstate a License

After June 30th each ODD year, reinstate the license by going to the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to change License information (ie.: email and address)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements

No pre-licensing required. (Study Material)

Waivers due to Designations

None.

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements (C.G.S 38a-465a(p))

Connecticut does not require CE for Appraisers.

Cancel License

License Voluntary – Surrender Request

Important Information

Renewal FAQs