Property & Casualty Claim Adjuster

Definition

ADJUSTER – A person who investigates, negotiates and settles losses for an insurance carrier. They must establish the how, when, where and why during the investigation of the insured's claim. They represent the insurance company and acting for the company in working on agreements as to the amount of a loss and the liability of the company in same. They must establish the worth and value of the claim in the evaluation and, ultimately, they must authorize payment, negotiate an agreement or reject the claim.

CASUALTY ADJUSTER – Casualty Adjuster means any person who or which acts as an adjuster of insurance claims, other than life, accident and health, and fire and extended in the general practice of law are exempted.

Applicable Statutes

CGS §38a-792 – see Laws and Regulations

Fees

Initial: $130.00
Amendment: $130.00
Reinstatement: $130.00
Renewal: $80.00
No pro-rating, non-refundable $50.00 application fee.

Duration

Two (2) years – Renews June 30th every ODD year.

How to Apply

Residents:

  • No pre-licensing course is required before taking the Adjuster exam. (Study Material)
  • To download the Candidate Handbook and schedule the exam.
  • After passing the exam, apply at the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”
    (Note: you do not need to submit the passed examination, the Department will verify this information with our vendor.)

Non-Residents:

  • Connecticut will grant reciprocity with an equivalent license in any other state (except California, Hawaii or New York).
  • Apply at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

Non-Residents claiming DHS:

  • Connecticut issues Non-Resident DHS status to an individual who resides in a state with no Adjuster licensing
  • After passing the exam, apply at the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to Renew

How to Amend Lines of Authority

Apply at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Add Line of Authority.”

How to Reinstate a License

After June 30th each ODD year, reinstate the license by going to the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR). Under Licensing Center, select “Apply for a New License.”

How to change License information (ie.: demographics)

Update your License Information

Print a copy of the license

Search and print a license

Initial Education Requirements

No pre-licensing required. (Study Material)

Waivers due to Designations

None.

Renewal Continuing Education (CE) Requirements (C.G.S 38a-465a(p))

Connecticut does not require CE for Adjusters.

Cancel License

License Voluntary – Surrender Request

Important Information

Renewal FAQs