NOTICE: This office is currently closed to public visitors as a protective measure for the safety of customers and staff. The department will continue to provide services by email and telephone. Consumers with questions can call 860-297-3900. Insurance companies and licensees can call 860-297-3800 directly. Service of process on the Insurance Commissioner will be accepted Tuesdays & Thursdays, 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Visit the Department coronavirus information

Commissioner's Logo
 
CONSUMER ALERT – February 25, 2020
 
Insurance Commissioner Reminds Active Duty Personnel and
Carriers of Unfair Practice Targeting Deployed Military
 

The Connecticut Insurance Department wants to remind insurers and active-duty military that any surcharge for policy lapses made by active duty military personnel is an unfair practice.

Please be aware that in Connecticut no active military personnel upon their return to the states should face an extra charge to reinstate the policy lapse. This surcharge is commonly referred to as the “Patriot Penalty.”

Any member of the Armed Forces who was a policyholder in good standing at the time of deployment and can show proof that the policy lapse occurred during active service, are expected to be treated as if the coverage was continuous and the surcharge waived.

The Insurance Department issued guidance in 2004 that prohibits insurers from issuing this type of a surcharge.

Read the CT Insurance Department Position on Underwriting Standards for Members of the Armed Services Returning from Active Duty.

The Consumer Federation of America recently released a list of states where this practice continues to be a concern.

While Connecticut residents do not appear to be affected, anyone with questions should contact the Consumer Affairs Department by email at insurance@ct.gov or call 860-297-3900.

 
###
 
About the Connecticut Insurance Department: The mission of the Department is to protect consumers through regulation of the industry, outreach, education and advocacy. In FY 2018, the Department recovered more than $4.5 million on behalf of consumers and regulates the industry by ensuring carriers adhere to state insurance laws and regulations and are financially solvent to pay claims. The Department’s annual budget is funded through assessments from the insurance industry. For every dollar of direct expense, the Department brings in about $8.35 to the state in revenues. In FY 2018, the Department returned more than $145 million in assessments, fees, fines and penalties, and taxes to the state’s General Fund.
 
For help with all your insurance issues:
  • Email us at insurance@ct.gov
  • Ask a question or file a complaint online
  • Call the Consumer Helpline at 800-203-3447 or 860-297-3900.
  • Sign up for e-alerts to get the latest news, warnings and rate changes that may affect your premium
  • Download consumer FAQs on health, homeowner and auto coverage
  • Use the Department’s Speakers Bureau for public events.
  • Visit our Web site and follow the Department on Facebook, Twitter or YouTube