Search The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station Filtered Topic Search

CAES in the News

 
March 14, 2019--Rescued owl takes flight https://www.milfordmirror.com/136648/rescued-owl-takes-flight/

March 13, 2019--
Agriculture Day at the Capital https://www.ct.gov/doag/cwp/view.asp?Q=607838&A=1401

March 13, 2019--
Will Connecticut residents see less ticks this summer? https://www.wtnh.com/news/health/will-connecticut-residents-see-less-ticks-this-summer-/1846415878

March 5, 2019--Managing The Deer Population http://www.wshu.org/post/managing-deer-population#stream/0
   
March 4, 2019--‘Hemp will thrive’ in CT, retired farmer tells lawmakers https://www.ctpost.com/local/article/Hemp-will-thrive-in-CT-retired-farmer-13661466.php

February 22, 2019--All-Star Speaker Lineup Highlights Upcoming Public Health Virtual Conference https://www.pctonline.com/article/speaker-lineup-public-health-virtual-event/

February 14, 2019--
Pollen Sleuths: Tracking Pesticides in Honey Bee Pollen to Their Source Plant https://entomologytoday.org/2019/02/14/pollen-sleuths-tracking-pesticides-in-honey-bee-pollen-to-their-source-plant/
 
February 13, 2019--Every ash tree in CT to die within the decade https://www.ctpost.com/news/article/Every-ash-tree-in-CT-to-die-within-the-decade-13613713.php

 

February 12, 2019--Tracking Pesticide Residues to a Plant Genus Using Palynology in Pollen Trapped from Honey Bees (Hymenoptera: Apidae) at Ornamental Plant Nurseries https://academic.oup.com/ee/advance-article/doi/10.1093/ee/nvz007/5310146?guestAccessKey=575f929c-a06c-493d-aef8-708db1833aca

February 9, 2019--What a hoot: Barred owls showing up in ‘funny places’ https://www.theday.com/local-news/20190209/what-hoot-barred-owls-showing-up-in-funny-places

February 7, 2019--
Recent temps make fate of Candlewood’s pesky milfoil uncertain https://www.newstimes.com/local/article/Recent-temps-make-fate-of-Candlewood-s-pesky-13597868.php

February 1, 2019--
HRI announces 2019 funded research projects https://www.gardencentermag.com/article/hri-horticultural-research-institute-2019-funded-projects/
 
January 30, 2019--Cold Weather Provides Welcome Relief For Connecticut’s Troubled Hemlock Trees http://www.wnpr.org/post/cold-weather-provides-welcome-relief-connecticut-s-troubled-hemlock-trees
   
January 30, 2019--Shelton Man Named To Community Foundation Board https://patch.com/connecticut/shelton/shelton-man-named-community-foundation-board    

January 30, 2019--Bird colony on Charles Island at risk, but there is hope https://www.milfordmirror.com/135527/bird-colony-on-charles-island-at-risk-but-there-is-hope/

January 26, 2019--
Robert Miller: Deep winter freezes a blessing for hemlocks https://www.newstimes.com/news/article/Robert-Miller-Deep-winter-freezes-a-blessing-for-13562580.php

January 24, 2019--New Yale podcast asks questions about animals https://yaledailynews.com/blog/2019/01/24/new-yale-podcast-asks-questions-about-animals/

January 17, 2019--Sonic tomographs sound out tree rot https://physicsworld.com/a/sonic-tomographs-sound-out-tree-rot/

January 13, 2019--Connecticut not likely to see drop in Lyme disease cases https://www.nhregister.com/news/article/Connecticut-not-likely-to-see-drop-in-Lyme-13530044.php
 
January 8, 2019--It Takes a Mosquito to Fight a Mosquito https://www.nytimes.com/2019/01/08/opinion/mosquito-fighting-tropical-disease.html