Board of Control

The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station is governed by an eight-member board. Statutory authority of the Board is found in Connecticut General Statutes 22-79 through 22-83.

Current members are:

  • Governor Ned Lamont, ex officio
  • Commissioner of Agriculture Bryan Hurlburt 
  • Terry Jones of Shelton (Governor appointee)
  • Joan Nichols of Lebanon (Governor appointee)
  • Dr. Frederick M. Cohan, appointed by Board of Trustees of Wesleyan University
  • Dr. Erol Fikrig, appointed by the Governing Board of the Sheffield Scientific School, Yale University
  • Michael P. O’Neill, Ph.D., appointed by the Board of Trustees of the University of Connecticut
  • Director, Dr. Jason C. White, ex officio


  • President--Governor Ned Lamont 
  • Vice President--Terry Jones
  • Secretary--TBA
  • Director, Treasurer, and Attorney for Investments--Dr. Jason C. White 

Executive and Finance Committee:

  • Terry Jones
  • Dr. Jason C. White

Meetings of Board:

The Board meets quarterly during the calendar year.

Scheduled meetings in 2020-2021:

  • Wednesday, April 15, 2020, 10:00 a.m., New Haven (CAES Board Room, Slate Building)
  • Wednesday August 5, 2020, 1:00 p.m., Hamden (Lockwood Farm)
  • Wednesday, October 14, 2020, 10:00 a.m., Windsor (Valley Laboratory)
  • Tuesday, January 19, 2021, 10:00 a.m., Wethersfield (Connecticut Farm Bureau)
  • SNOW DATE--Friday, January 22, 2021, 10:00 a.m., Wethersfield  (Connecticut Farm Bureau)
Board of Control Meeting Minutes: