NOTICE: The Department of Aging and Disability Services will be closed Wednesday, February 12, in observance of Lincoln's birthday, and Monday, February 17 in observance of President's Day.

Older Worker Program: Senior Community Service Employment Program (SCSEP)

Eligibility
Service Providers

 
SCSEP participants are placed in temporary training assignments where they gain valuable on-the-job work experience and training needed to gain meaningful employment. 
 
Program Services

 

Participants will work 20 hours a week at the training sites for which they will be paid minimum wage.  This on-the-job training as well as additional training and service as needed help participants to find meaningful employment after SCSEP.

Program Objectives

  • Participate in community service assignments to learn new skills in on the job training
  • Assistance in resume development
  • Assistance in developing job search skills
  • Increase opportunities to obtain jobs in the private sector
  • Referrals to supportive services as needed
  • Change stereotypes about older workers through public education and demonstrated success
Eligibility
  • Be unemployed
  • Be 55 years of age or older and a resident of Connecticut
  • Have an annual family income that is not more than 125% of the federal poverty income guidelines.
Family Size Annual Income

1 Individual - $15,613

Family of 2 - $21,138

Family of 3 - $26,663

 

SCSEP Providers

For additional information about SCSEP, please contact Jennifer Gorman at (860) 424-5643 or at Jennifer.Gorman@ct.gov
Greater New Haven Area:

Associates for Training and Development
Whitneyville Cultural Commons 
1253 Whitney Ave 
Sean Joyce
(203) 314-1885

Litchfield County:

EdAdvance 
PO Box 909
Litchfield, CT 06759
JodiLynn Nasinnyk
(860) 567-0863
nasinnyk@edadvance.org

Greater Stamford Area:

Jewish Family Service of Stamford
169 Greyrock Place
Stamford, CT 06901
Ilene Locker
(203) 921-4161
iklocker@ctjfs.org

 

For Other Senior Community Service Employment Program Contact:

Fairfield, Hartford, Middlesex, New London, Tolland and Windham Counties:

The WorkPlace Inc.:
350 Fairfield Ave, 4th Flr
Bridgeport, CT 06604
(203) 953-3752
John Szymanski
jszymanski@workplace.org

601 Norwich New London Tnpk, Suite 1
Montville, CT 06382
(860) 848-5943
Rory Patton
rpatton@workplace.org 

20-28 Sargeant St, 2nd Flr
Hartford, CT 06105
(203) 610-6554
Elizabeth Acevedo
eacevedo@workplace.org 

458 Grand Ave, Rm 110
New Haven, CT 06513
Patryce Bryant
(203) 373-2101
pbryant@workplace.org

649 West Main St
Waterbury, CT 06702
(203) 373-2104
Patrick Murphy
pmurphy@workplace.org