EMERGENCY DISABILITY RETIREMENT PAPERWORK

Effective date will be the first of the month within 90 days (approx. 3 months) from date signed by employee. All paperwork must be submitted to the Retirement Division (cannot be held at agency). The paperwork can be pulled back before effective retirement date. The 90 day protection can only be used once. Employee will need to provide copies of his/hers and spouse's/contingent annuitant's birth certificates and marriage certificate.

Retirement paperwork for emergency situations:

Employee or Limited Durable Power of Attorney (LDPOA) <u>must</u> complete as much as possible, <u>sign</u> and <u>date</u>:

- Application for Retirement form <u>CO-898</u>
- Option form <u>CO-900</u> Completed with contingent annuitant information (which can be spouse), 100% check and initial, and for TIER I, IIA & III beneficiary information.
 A <u>Witness must also sign and date</u> witness cannot be contingent annuitant/spouse or beneficiary.
- If employee is single the Spouse Waiver form <u>CO-1047</u> must be signed in front of a Notary Public
- Health Insurance form <u>CO-744</u>
- <u>Federal</u> and <u>Connecticut Tax</u> Withholding Forms
- If has group life insurance and under age 60– Application form for Waiver of Group Life Insurance Premiums <u>CO-819</u>.
- If has vacation and/or sick leave balances Comptroller's letter "Applicant Certification".
- <u>Medical Coverage While Out On Leave</u> if/when employee exhausts all accrued leave time (Connecticut General Statutes Section 5-248).
- Employee's physician(s) to complete Medical Report form <u>CO-649</u> **This is what** supports the Application for a Disability Retirement.

Completed forms must be submitted to the Office of the State Comptroller, Retirement Services Division, Disability Unit, 55 Elm Street, 3rd Floor, Hartford, CT 06106, prior to the effective date of retirement.