

State of Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities

Promoting Equality and Justice for all People

SEXUAL HARASSMENT IS ILLEGAL

and is prohibited by

The Connecticut Discrimination Employment Practices Act, and

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

Sexual harassment means: "Any unwelcome sexual advances or requests for sexual favors or any conduct of a sexual nature when:

- (1) Submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual's employment;
- (2) Submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as the basis for employment decisions affecting such individual; or
- (3) Such conduct has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an individual's work performance or creating an intimidating, hostile or offensive working environment."

Individuals who engage in acts of sexual harassment may be subject to civil and criminal penalties.

Examples of Sexual Harassment	Remedies For Sexual Harassment
 Unwelcome sexual advances Suggestive or lewd remarks Unwanted hugs, touches, or kisses Requests for sexual favors Retaliation for complaining about sexual harassment Derogatory or pornographic posters, cartoons or drawings 	 Cease and desist orders Back pay Compensatory damages Hiring, promotion or reinstatement Emotional distress damages

If you feel you have been discriminated against or harassed, contact the DOT Office of Equal Opportunity & Diversity at 860-594-2211. Discrimination and Sexual Harassment should be reported within 30 days if filing with DOT. You also have the right to file externally with the CT CHRO.

Connecticut law requires that a written complaint be filed with the Commission within 300 days of the date the alleged harassment for events occurring on or after October 1, 2019. For harassment occurring before October 1, 2019, complaints must be filed within 180 days of the harassment.

If you feel you have been discriminated against, contact the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities at 860-541-3400, CT Toll Free 1-800-477-5737, or online at www.ct.gov/CHRO