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Registration
& Titling

Vessel Registration
When you purchase a vessel, you are responsible for seeing 

that it is registered. The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is 
the agency that handles boat registrations. Evidence of ownership 
must be submitted at the time of registration. Upon receipt of 
the application and fee, a Connecticut Registration Number will 
be assigned. A Connecticut Certificate of Number (registration 
document) and two Connecticut Validation Decals will be issued. 
A Certificate of Number is valid until April 30 of the decal year. 
Connecticut registration numbers stay with the boat as long as it 
is registered in the state. A vessel is considered properly registered 
when you have a valid certificate on board and your numbers 
and/or current decals are properly displayed. (Exception: Recently 
registered boats operating under a temporary certificate of number 
need not display a validation decal until provided by the DMV.) 

If you have questions or need more information call, the DMV 
Vessel Registration Information directly at 860-263-5718 or visit 
https://portal.ct.gov/dmv 

Position of Registration
Number and Validation Decals

The Registration Number must be at least three inches high, 
contrasting in color to the hull background and in block form. It must 
be painted on or attached to both the port and starboard bow of the 
vessel and positioned so it is visible and legible from at least 100 feet 
away. The registration number must read from left to right on both 
sides of the vessel. A Validation Decal must be placed two inches to 
the right of and in line with the assigned registration number. No other 
letters, numbers or validation decals (other than the current ones) 
may be displayed.

Hull Identification Number (HIN)
The Hull Identification Number (HIN) is a unique, 12 character 

string, assigned by the manufacturers to vessels built after 1972. 
HINs identify one vessel from another. The HIN is usually found 
on the starboard side of the boat’s transom. The HIN should be 
recorded by the owner and put in a place other than the boat 
in case warranty problems arise or the vessel is lost or stolen. 
Owners of registered vessels manufactured after October 1, 
1972, that do not have a HIN should call the Boating Division at 
860-434-8638. 
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Vessels Numbered by
Other States and Reciprocity

Documented vessels and vessels numbered by another 
state which are moored, docked or operated more than 60 days 
in Connecticut in any calendar year, must obtain a Connecticut 
Certificate of Decal from DMV and display a current Connecticut 
validation decal (but not a Connecticut registration number) on 
both sides of the bow. In addition, the owner must acquire a 
boating certificate that is recognized by Connecticut in order 
to operate the vessel on Connecticut waters. Connecticut boat 
users should check and obey local laws when operating in other 
states.

Note: Every entity leasing, renting or otherwise providing 
slips, dock space, dry storage, or moorings for vessels not 
registered in Connecticut is required to maintain a list of such 
vessels. Transient vessels need not be listed. The list must 
be available during normal business hours for inspection by 
any boating law enforcement officer. The rules for information 
collected differ slightly for those entities that provide such space 
by lease and those that provide such space by membership. 
If you have any questions, please contact the Boating Division 
regulatory section at 860-434-8638. (CGS Section 15-150a)

Certificate to Be On Board
A Certificate of Number or Certificate of Decal must be on 

board the vessel whenever the owner or any person authorized 
by the owner is aboard, except that rented boats may carry a 
rental agreement in lieu of a certificate.

Taxability of Vessels and Trailers
As a general rule, when a Connecticut resident or an 

individual who maintains a place of abode in Connecticut buys a 
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Connecticut Titles Boats 
As of January 1, 2016, all motorboats and all sailboats 19.5 

feet in length or longer are required to be titled through the
Department of Motor Vehicles IF:
• They have a model year or construction date of 2017 or
   later; and
• They are registered in Connecticut where Connecticut is
   identified as the state of principal use; and
• They are NOT documented with the United States Coast 
   Guard or titled in another state.
The fee for titling a vessel is $25.00. 

For more information, go to our website 
https://portal.ct.gov/DEEP/Boating/Boating-and-Paddling 
and click on Boat Registration under Resources.
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vessel or trailer, Connecticut sales or use tax is due. The sales 
tax will be 6.35% of the purchase price for vessels and trailers 
used for transporting a vessel with a purchase date before July 
1, 2018.  Vessels and trailers used for transporting a vessel 
purchased on or after July 1, 2018 will be charged a tax rate 
of 2.99 percent.

Out-of-state residents or nonresident entities that have 
purchased a vessel with the intent of using it in Connecticut 
waters must pay a Connecticut use tax. This Connecticut use 
tax liability must be reported on the “Individual Use Tax” line of 
the purchaser’s Form CT-1040 NR/PY Connecticut Nonresident 
Income Tax Return. This use tax can be offset by documenting 
that sales or use tax has been properly paid to another state 
or municipality.

For Further Information: Call the Department of Revenue 
Services during business hours, Monday through Friday: 
1-800-382-9463, or 860-297-5962 TTY, TDD and Test 
Telephone users only may transmit inquiries anytime by calling 
860-297-4911.

Change of Address/ Change of Ownership/ 
Change of Registration Status

If you change your address or sell or otherwise dispose of 
your vessel, you must, within 15 days and in writing, notify the 
Department of Motor Vehicles, Marine Vessel Section, 60 State 
St., Wethersfield, CT 06161. In the case of an address change, 

keep your Certificate of Number on the boat after updating the 
address on the back of the certificate. We recommend that you 
send the notification by certified mail and keep a copy of the 
cancellation along with any receipts from the post office.
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Useful Forms Available on the DMV Website

AU-463 - Motor Vehicle and Vessel Gift Declaration

B58 - Change of Address - For Individuals/ 

         For Organizations

B96 - Correction of Information For Vessels

B148 - Vessel Registration Application

B203 - Vessel Ownership Affi davit

B220 - Documents Required for Vessel Registration

B229 - Commercial Fishing Affi davit

H31 - Bill of Sale

J23V - Vessel Copy Records Request

https://portal.ct.gov/DMV




