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SUPPORTING AGENCIES INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:
« Office of Policy and Management (OPM)
» Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (DESPP)
» Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
« Judicial Branch Court Support Services Division (CSSD)

Any amount of alcohol will affect the
ability to operate a motor vehicle.
Alcohol’s effect is magnified by emotions,
physical condition, use of prescription
drugs or other types of drugs, some over-
the-counter medications and some herbal
supplements.

BAC AND AREAS OF
IMPAIRMENT
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Connecticut’s
Impaired
Driving Law




THE
FACTS
ARE...

Driving is a privilege, and under
Connecticut’s IMPLIED CONSENT
LAW, any person who operates a
motor vehicle shall be deemed to
have given his or her consent to a
test to determine blood alcohol
content (BAC).

You are legally intoxicated if your
BAC is .08 or above. If you are
under 21 years of age, you are legally
intoxicated at a .02 BAC or higher.

Connecticut has enacted strong new

measures to combat impaired
driving. Stiff penalties, including
mandatory sentencing and strict
enforcement of our laws send a clear
message:

Operating a motor
vehicle under the
influence will not

be tolerated on
Connecticut’s roadways.

OPERATING UNDER THE
INFLUENCE (OUI)

In Connecticut, operating a motor
vehicle while under the influence of
alcohol and/or drugs is a criminal
offense. This offense may be

prosecuted with or without any direct

evidence of a person’s blood alcohol
content (BAC). The determining
factor is whether a person’s ability to
operate a motor vehicle has been
impaired.

IF YOU ARE ARRESTED FOR OUI:

 You will be detained by the police and
read your rights.

« Your vehicle may be towed at your
expense.

 You will be transported in a police
cruiser to the police station.

« You will be asked to submit to
a blood, breath or urine test. If you
refuse, the refusal may be admissible as
evidence in your administrative license
suspension hearing or criminal
prosecution for operating under the
influence.

« If you consent to testing, you will be
given two tests at least ten minutes
apart.

o If you refuse the test or if the test results
show an elevated BAC or the presence
of impairing drugs in your system, you
will be subject to administrative and/or
criminal penalties.

 You can be kept in a police lock-up.

TWO WAYS TO LOSE YOUR LICENSE:

There are two laws to protect the citizens of Connecticut from the impaired operator:
o DRIVER LICENSE SANCTIONS « CRIMINAL PENALTIES
The DRIVER LICENSE SANCTIONS (license suspension periods) outlined below have been revised effective July 1, 2015 and

can be imposed IN ADDITION TO CRIMINAL PENALTIES. In most cases, the driver license sanctions will be imposed much
earlier. IN ALL CASES, they will be imposed in addition to criminal penalties and will appear on your driving record.

ADMINISTRATIVE PER SE SANCTIONS THROUGH DMV
Beginning with arrest dates on or after July 1, 2015, all driver license suspensions for failing or refusing a chemical alcohol test will
be forty-five (45) days. The installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) will be required prior to restoration for ALL alcohol
related suspensions. Following restoration, the IID must be maintained for at least the length of time listed below:

IID requirement for drivers under 21 years old

Blood Alcohol Level First Offense Second Offense Third or Subsequent Offense
Test results of .02 or higher | 1 year 2 years 3 years
IID requirement for drivers 21 years old and older
Blood Alcohol Level First Offense Second Offense Third or Subsequent Offense
Test results of .08 or higher | 6 months 1 year 2 years
IID requirement for ALL drivers
Refusal of Test First Offense Second Offense Third or Subsequent Offense
Refusal to submit to 1 year 2 years 3 years
chemical testing

CRIMINAL PENALTIES

If the court proceedings result in a conviction, the following penalties must be imposed:

First Offense

Second Offense Within Connecticut

or Out-Of-State
(within 10 years of last conviction)

Third Offense
(within 10 years of last conviction)

Fine: $500 to $1,000

Fine: $1,000 to $4,000

Fine: $2,000 to $8,000

Jail: Not more than 6 months jail, 48
consecutive hours of which may not
be suspended or reduced in any
manner, or Not more than 6 months
jail execution suspended and
probation with 100 hours of
community service in lieu of the 48
hours in jail

Jail: Not more than 2 years jail, 120
consecutive days of which may not
be suspended or reduced in any
manner, and probation with 100
hours of community service and
substance abuse evaluation and
treatment if deemed necessary

Jail: Not more than 3 years jail, 1
year of which may not be
suspended or reduced in any
manner, and probation with 100
hours of community service and
substance abuse evaluation and
treatment if deemed necessary

License Suspension: 45 days

Ignition Interlock Device:
1 year mandatory

License Suspension: 45 days

Ignition Interlock Device: 3 years
mandatory, during the first year
may drive only to or from work,
school, an alcohol or drug abuse
treatment program, an IID service
center, or an appointment with a
probation officer

License Suspension: Revoked for
life, but may apply for
reinstatement after 2 years

Ignition Interlock Device: If
approved, must drive vehicle
equipped with Ignition Interlock
Device for lifetime, from date of
reinstatement, but can request a
hearing to have IID condition
removed after 15 years






